click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:09 a.m. - 2009-02-02
Two thirds of the world is covered by water. The rest is covered by Troy Polomalu.
Is jumping up and down bad for the baby? I hope not because I sure did a lot of it last night. I think our neighbors probably think we are a little crazy. Stacey and Ken came over to watch the Super Bowl last night and at certain critical points, Kevin and I were up off the couch jumping, screaming, scaring the cats, waving the terrible towel, etc. And Stacey and Ken sat politely on our futon...they may have clapped a little or cheered in an "inside voice."

That game was....wow. A nail biter to say the least. My boys had their backs up against the wall for a while. But, as mentioned in my earlier post, the Steelers tend to come through. Santonio Holmes is kind of a douchebag (pardon the term) in regular life, but boy did he do his thing last night. It's easier for me to love the players who seem like good guys off the field like Troy and Ben and Hines. But the Jeff Reeds and the Santonio Holmeses of the team, who tend to get arrested for drug possession or just treat women like crap, might deserve a double bird flip when it comes to evaluating their place in the community. However, I have to admit, they deserve a thumbs up, too.

While I am certain that I could outrun Ben Roethlisberger, even though I have the tail end of a cold and am in my 5th month of pregnancy (man is that boy SLOW) he is the greatest example of grace under pressure. He just has that laser-focus and that rocket-arm when it counts. I can't believe he's only 27.

When the four of us watching the game found out last night that Ben is 27 and that the coach Mike Tomlin is only a year or so older than Kevin, we were kind of laughing about it - like haha, wow, it's unbelievable they are out age, because usually the QB and the coach of Super Bowl winning teams are more in the Peyton Manning(early 30s)/Bill Cowher (50ish)...and then we all were kind of like...hmmm, where did we go wrong?

I usually feel like I'm ahead of the game when it comes to age - I'm used to being either the youngest or toward the younger end of the continuum, of my peers in whatever the situation is. For example, I am the youngest person by about 10 years that holds a director position in my agency. That is kind of the norm for me. I realie that I really like it that way. It scares me a little that I will eventually, almost certainly, be "bypassed" by some younger cracker jack hot shot.

I have an employee who is in his late 40s. He does the same job that I have a 19 year old doing. I admire his humility because that would drive me batshit crazy. I have worked jobs, not that long ago, mind you, where I knew I was way overqualified, because I needed the money. I knew it was temporary and it was made easier because people were constantly telling me how I and my skill set were "above" my job. Honestly, it felt good to get my hands dirty and put my nose to the grindstone and work hard while I waited with relative confidence that something better would come along. I didn't mind scrubbing huge pans of baked on remnants of 100 servings of macaroni and cheese because I saw the light at the end of the tunnel and convinced myself that I was building character. There are people who sweep floors and take out the trash that feel like that is all they are capable of - there is no light at the end of the tunnel, and that breaks my heart.

I have had the biblical theme of "His eye is on the sparrow and I know He watches me" has been on my mind all weekend. And that comes to mind again. We get so tied up in our identities - success, achievement, advanced degrees, the people we know, the crap we own. And yet...God's eye is on the sparrow. Who basically eats and poops and drives my cats crazy. Yet, one will not fall to the ground outside of His will. Sometimes I struggle to believe such a thing - but if it's true, boy is that mind blowing. And it kind of makes me want to have more fun eating and pooping and driving cats crazy - or some reasonable equivalents.

I'm not sure how I got here from the Super Bowl, but I did.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!