click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:22 a.m. - 2009-01-19
snacks and shirts
So, shortly after I found out I was pregnant, and started missing out on our usual ritual of bellying up to the bar at this grimy, smoky little tavern down the street from our house, I had this thought: I kind of hope football season goes quick this year because it's not as fun without beer.

Well, OF COURSE, they started winning. And then they made the playoffs. And they kept winning. So, here we are, with the never ending football season...and the Steelers are playing in the Super Bowl in 2 weeeks.

Now, don't get me wrong - it's still awesome. When Troy Polamalu intercepted that pass and ran it back for a touchdown, we were screaming and jumping around and our cats were looking at us like we were crazy. It's just not quite the same, though. I was talking to my mom about it and I realized something: we are watching the Steelers the way old people do. At home.

There are a few nice things about being at home though.

-The non smoky atmosphere is definitely refreshing and certainly better for all of us.

-The bathroom isn't cold - why IS that?? Bathrooms at restaurants, especially bars are freezing!

-If it's a boring game, I can do something else like blog.

-We are not limited to bar food. I have been making buffalo chicken dip. Apparently this is extremely popular because at two different grocery stores on two different Sundays, I was almost unable to find a single bottle of blue cheese dressing (don't worry crazy pregnancy diet people...it gets cooked) and totally unable to find the requisite canned chicken. I was forced to buy the "premium" kind that is in a foil envelope thing. They were nearly out of both of these things. Since almost every party I have been to in the past 3 months has involved buffalo chicken dip, I am assuming that everyone who is not in a bar is eating it on sundays. Maybe the bars are serving it too.

I made about half of a batch of that last night and between the two of us, we ate the whole thing and about half a bag of tortilla chips by the end of the first quarter...and we could not bring ourselves to even think about eating dinner 3 hours later, so we didn't. I had cereal for breakfast, a gyro and french fries for lunch and bufflo chicken dip and tortilla chips for dinner. I turned to Kevin and said "The only vegetables I ate today were french fries and shredded iceberg lettuce." My next thought was: I hope our baby doesn't come out like trailer trash.

Kevin bought me this awesome shirt last week that says "STEELER FAN IN THE OVEN" with an arrow pointing to my belly. I am just starting to show, as I am now 4 months along for those who are keeping track, but I have to wear it NOW because the Steelers are only playing one more game. The reactions out in public have been really fun. I actually felt like a celebrity or something in the way that they must feel when they are just trying to eat and people come up to them while they are mid-mouthful and start jabbering away. I was with my friend, Leah, at a diner and every single waitress and several patrons came up to me and asked where I got my shirt...then, of course, they ask how far along, when's it due, do I know if it's a boy or girl and say congratulations. I expected people to, like, notice the shirt and kind of chuckle, but I didn't think it was going to cause a scene. Some guy in his very early twenties, like a total frat boy, came up to me and was firing all these questions about it...I was thinking "Hmm, who did you knock up buddy?"

If you want to see the shirt, it's up on Facebook as my profile picture.


previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!