click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:23 a.m. - 2009-01-05
first day of work - ugh
I can't believe I have to go to work today. I was getting really comfy with the whole housewife role. :(

It will be fine; ten minutes after I walk in the door I'll be back in the swing. I've already checked my work email and have dealt with the major ones, so that mountainous task isn't looming. I do have to figure out how to get the gecko and its large living container back to the center by myself. Hmm.

I am not yet in maternity clothes although a few pants have gone the way of under the bed until next winter due to their form fitting nature. I haven't actually gained any weight yet, although my tummy is poking out more than usual. My body is probably shrinking fat cells since Sundays are no longer spend belly-up to the bar drinking Iron City Light and eating buffalo wings all the live long day.

Now that the first trimester is over (woot! We are at 13.5 weeks today) and the dreaded end of 08 illness from hell has mostly passed, I plan to exercise more. I just can't figure out what will work best. I would LOVE to swim. And I do have access to the pool at Carlow where I go to grad school. But I don't really have a great "active swimming" bathing suit, but also, it's all complicated because the pool hours are spotty and right now I don't have a parking pass, and if I get one, it should be only for evenings but if I swam, it would be in the a.m. See, it's never easy. I should probably just walk around the block few times every night when I get home.

I start classes next week and I REALLY need to get my books. Yikes. I really have been coasting the last two weeks - I resigned from my job doing in-home therapy with a little boy who has autism, I haven't gone to my regular job once and I've been on winter break for grad school. And honestly, I got very little done during this time. But I have gotten to see friends and movies and spend time with the fam and the husband - that has been nice.

Speaking of the husband. Here is how he started off 2009. So we get home from my sister-in-law's where we go for New Years day. It is pretty far away - over an hour. But we love Brian and Sherri and their house is amazing and cozy and we got to see Sherri's little neice, Abigail which was fun. But, it was a long day for a sick, pregnant lady and her overworked husband. So we get home, and, among other things that desperately need to be fixed in our lives, the opener for the garage door seems to be broken. So now Kevin has to get out and open it manually. For some odd reason, he pulls up really close to the door, so when he gets out of the car, he has to go around the back of the car and along the passenger side to get to the garage door. I see him go around behind the car and I see him in the rearview mirror and suddenly, simultaneously 1. he disappears from view 2. I hear a loud THUD and 3. there is a sad, desperate moaning sound coming from behind the car. Sigh.

I calmly get out and approach the victim. I see that the driveway is a sheet of ice. Awesome.

My husband is flat on his back, writhing and moaning on the driveway.

me: did you hit your head?

him: nahhhhhhh owwwwwww

me: DID YOU HIT YOUR HEAD???

him: nooooooo

me: are you bleeding?

him: uhhhh, noooooooo? Ahhhhhh. Ohhh.

me: where does it hurt?

him: my side owwwwwwwwwwwww

So I help him up. He has no marks or bruises, but he says it feels just a notch below, on the pain scale in terms of intensiy and type, where it was when he was hit by a car on his bike and broke his ribs.

Of course he refuses to go to the doc - "x-rays are expensive! They'll just give me pain meds and tell me to take it easy. So I'll take ibuprofin and take it easy."

Ooohhhh, kaaaay. Whatever you say, Dear.

So Saturday night, guess who decided to share most of a case of Miller Light (I guess there are some left, but there are a LOT of empty beer cans in the recycling bin and I can assure you I didn't have any) with our friend, Marc, and guess who decided he was going to be the drummer the entire time we played Rock Band, and guess who insisted on achieving "most energetic band member" status for each song?

Waving drum sticks around all night is presumably not under "how to heal bruised or possibly broken ribs" on WebMD.

I can't blame him too much though - he has, for the most part, partaken in the "no fun" restrictions of pregnancy right along with me. I think he got overly excited that he and Marc could cut loose while the precious vessels/designated drivers were busy discussing baby names and maternity clothes.

So of course he felt horrible the next day, but I think, at this point, he is on the mend.

Okay, off to work! Here's to a fabulous 2009!


previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!