click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:15 p.m. - 2008-09-24
crazy lady
Lack of posts lately. It is for two reasons. One is that I am busy with grad school and the other is that I am slightly obsessed with a new guilty pleasure. The Twilight series by Stephanie Meyer. I know, I know, it's all just a sad replacement for Harry Potter - but I do enjoy it. I just started the third book.

I finally got an actual A on a paper. I have been plagued by the A- up until now. I was so happy to see an A minus the minus!

We have a crazy person in our class. She really is actually crazy. Of course she is in my project group. She is from a Middle Eastern country that shall remain nameless to protect her crazy identity. I have never witnessed someone display such craziness in this type of setting. I will give you just the latest few examples. A nice woman in my project group did a power point presentation for our big upcoming group presentation. Just a normal, basic one with about 7 slides. It was emailed to everyone and everyone except for crazy lady responded that it was fine. Two days later crazy lady sends the totally unsolicited "new and improved" version to everyone, which is the same text of the original version except each slide now has numerous cheezy stock photos of people in "business settings." You know, like the business lady on the phone, the business man leading a meeting, etc. It is completely ridiculous and hilarious.

She also has been doing this thing where she interrupts our professor or another students to say something completely irrelevant that is in regard to a topic that we'd moved on from 20 minutes ago. I think our professor's head is going to explode if she does it again. She is so nice and diplomatic but she is running out of ways to say "Ok, well, that is a valid point, but back to what Lisa was saying..."

Yesterday in the library, she arrived to our group meeting 30 minutes late and as we were packing up to head to class, she walked up to me and physically tried to take a paper out of my hand. When I pulled it out of her grasp and gave her this wild-eyed look like "WHAT are you DOING???" She goes "I need dat to copy eet." And I say "Excuse me???" I mean, I just could not believe that she wouldn't say "May I borrow your paper so i can copy it?" And she just repeated herself. I just gave up and gave it to her. She steps over to the copier that I had just been very obviously using and putting change it each time. She tried to use it and then says "Eet does not work." And I say "You have to put change in it." And she says "You can give me change. Yes?" I turned to look at the rest of our group, and everyone was frozen with their mouths open. I just started laughing and handed her a dime.

I am actually sad that she won't be in other classes with me - there are a few people taking this class as an elective besides the people who are in my major that move together as a cohort. It's gotten to be amazingly entertaining.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!