click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:36 a.m. - 2008-09-08
naughty librarians and sexy nerds
I know everyone is saying that Sarah Palin looks like Tina Faye, which she does, but really, she looks way more like Mariska Hargitay from one of those cop shows. See here http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mariska_Hargitay

The one thing that has slightly annoyed me in regard to the buzz about Sarah Palin is that people keep making reference to the "naughty librarian" look. Why is it that every time a reasonably attractive woman under the age of 50 wears glasses are there references to either that or "Hott for Teacher?" Is it just because of that video back in the 80s? Wow - what an influence on culture! Just like how plaid skirts with a white button down immediately signal "naughty school girl." Thank you, Britney.

Occasionally when I meet someone or a group of people in a bar I like to play "Let's guess each other's occupation." It's great when there is a lull in conversation and has led to many interesting conversations and even a few friendships. That is how I met my good friends david and shawn in Seattle. When Haley and Fara and I are together, it is really fun to do this because I work in nonprofit, Haley sells liquor and Fara is a mortician. Ha! Try guessing that one, suckers!

Here are the interesting parts about this game: the first is that I am astoundingly accurate - it's like a party trick. I'm definately not always right but I can usually get in the ball park and sometimes am spot on - more accurate if I have talked to them for a little while. The other thing is that people always, when they guess what I do, either say "psychologist" (probably because they think I know what they do for a living because of some complex training I have in this area of guessing people's occupations or they think I like messing with people's minds) or they say "librarian" or "teacher." And I usually wrinkle my nose at the latter two because they sound kind of boring when you're in a bar - not like I'm hoping they'll say "pole dancer" or "Hollywood madame." But then there is usually some explanation that references the naughty librarian or sexy teacher thing. I guess because I am wearing glasses and lipstick. I think that's the thing: It's not just the glasses - it's glasses plus lipstick.

So, if you are under 50 (sorry, Mom)and wearing glasses and lipstick, just remember, people are looking at you and thinking "naughty librarian" or "sexy teacher."

I was thinking about how this is kind of sexist and whatnot, but it occurred to me: I have to confess, I have a thing for guys with glasses - see husband. And I think part of it stems from that Billy Idol video "Cradle of Love" where the naughty school girl imposes on that kinda sexy/nerdy bespectacled guy's apartment and plays a tape and dances on his bed. That was extremely exciting when I was 12 or so.

We are what we watch, People. The videos of the late 80s and early 90s have shaped our generation's collective fantasies. I mean, who didn't want to be that girl who gets pulled into the comic book to dance with that guy from A-ha!?? Or Helena Christiansen chewing off her nail polish in the Chris Isaak Wicked Games video where they are alone on that island? Or Paula Abdul in that Rush, Rush video with Keanu?

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!