click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:12 p.m. - 2008-09-03
RNC
I have been watching the republican national convention and I honestly cannot believe what jerks they are. Rudolf Giuliani or however you spell his name is basically just making fun of Obama. And making the most ridiculous extreme statements "He has never led anything. Nothing. Nada." And he basically made fun of Hilary. It's really mean spirited and pompous. He has barely said anything at all about John McCain. Except "Drill baby, drill." in regard to offshore drilling. These people are all chanting it now.

And now they are crazed with the idea that John McCain will protect us from terrorists. The crowd is in a total frenzy. Cindy McCain is just beaming and clapping and laughing as Rudolph is making fun of the Democrats and mocking Barack.

Well, so far, I can tell you who the classy, gracious political party is. The Republicans just look drunk on themselves. I am sure I am biased, but I am telling you, there was not a moment where Michelle Obama, Barack Obama or Joe Biden took mean, extreme, unfair shots at McCain. The worst thing anyone said was a little dig about his seven houses or whatever.

Even with the sweeping crowd shots, I can count the visible minorities that have been on camera on one hand.

Actually, I think John McCain has made some questionable personal choices like hanging his first wife out to dry when she was rendered disabled from a bad car accident and married Cindy McCain shortly after, a rich, beautiful, younger woman. However, I don't think that John McCain would be a horrible president. I will be devastated if Barack isn't elected but McCain probably isn't completely awful. But the party itself is just annoying the hell out of me right now.

Ok, here comes Palin. She looks great, I must say. The crowd is going totally bonkers for her - I'm pretty sure it wouldn't matter what she says - they have already decided to love her because they have to. I do love love love the idea of a woman being involved, I have to admit.

I see her future 12 year old son in law has gotten himself a clean cut hairdo. The only other picture I have seen of him, he had shaggy, long hair. And her pregnant daughter just looks kind of crabby.

Palin is poised and confident. Her smile looks real. Her family looks nice. Her husband seems normal and a bit sheepish. Like I said about Brack and Michelle, I like a man who marries a smart woman.

There are too many times though where she says stuff that is obviously just to draw applause like "our brave troops" and "proud of America" etc which result in awkwardly long clapping.

She talks about disabled children and pledges to advocate for them. She introduces her parents and they seem like cool old people.

Ooh, a black guy - well, he's a security guard.

Oh here we go, the digs on Barack. The bitterness and guns and religion stuff. Yadda yadda. It's annoying that he specifically and purposefully downplayed her family situation and she is taking shots. Now she's chastising the media.

Now she's back to saying that Obama hasn't done anything. Totally making fun of him "turning back the waters and healing the planet." "He's worried that someone won't read em' (terrorists) their rights."

Her family comes up and I notice that she basically gives all of the stiff hugs and air kisses. Although she does grab her baby from one of her daughters and carry him around for a while. That was kind of cute. But the pregnant kid and her boyfriend or whatever just look totally awkward.

Her sarcastic tone is not impressive at all. She has really hit the bottom in terms of negativity. If she wants a fight, she's set herself up for one.


previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!