click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:10 p.m. - 2008-07-18
love potion # 9
This is a public service announcement.

I decided to get my hair highlighted a few months ago, knowing that I would either have to end it quickly and get it dyed back in short order or every 2-3 months, go and spend a bundle keeping up with it. I got it highlighted and spent over 100 dollars on them.

I recently decided, as the roots were nearing emergency length, that I would look into cheaper options. I've done them myself before, just the roots at the top of my head to get by, between salon visits. But it's not a great option because it is scary and easy to mess up.

So, I looked into beauty school clinics. With trepidation. I made my appointment at the South Hills Beauty Academy. I arrived, signed my little "I promise not to sue you" paper. A cute, very young girl named Kristin was my stylist. She was AWESOME! I (almost) wish I had a funny story about how she didn't know her right from her left and confused "highlights" for "shaved to the scalp" or something. But it was quite the opposite. The only funny thing that happened was when I was still waiting before she took me back and I heard the instructor say "Just mix it so it's like pudding" to one of the girls.

I got very chunky, very light blonde highlights, low lights - dark brown-between the blonde, a wash with a decadent head massage, deep conditioning treatment, a hair cut and a blow out - straight with the ends flipped up.

THIRTY BUCKS, BITCHES.

Sorry I can't post pictures on here. I'll try to get one on my MySpace or something.

I am practically blonde now. I really like it and I have to tell you, there have been some interesting and unexpected results.

I was walking down the street right after my cut/color/etc. Not one, but TWO men whistled/cat-called at me within 2 blocks a block later a car full of cute young guys stopped, pulled over and asked me for directions and got rather chatty. (sidenote: I was not dressed like a hooker.) After that, I started looking around for some sort of evidence to prove that the South Hills Beauty Academy pays people to do this to those walking out of their clinic as some sort of special ops post-purchase marketing to intill consumer confidence. Also, in the past 24 hours, men have been going out of their way to open doors for me and catching my eye from other cars at stop lights. The cashier at the video store flirted SHAMELESSLY with me. He has waited on me at least 10 times and has never done this before - no, Bev, it's not your brother in law - it's a really young hipster guy.

Now, obviously I am not striving for these particular results. I got the one I want right here in my house - right now he is digging lint out of his belly button. HOTT.

So, I can pretty much take it or leave it - the attention - but it's made me really curious. I can't figure out if this is happening because my hair is (temporarily) straight, because it is blonde, if I am exuding more confidence than usual because I love the new look or if it's just coincidental and now that I noticed it, I'm paying more attention. Or, more concisely put: do I LOOK better, FEEL like I look better and give off positive vibes, or is it a fluke?

But I am telling you. Apparently in the past 24 hours I moved up a notch on the classic 1-10 according to the average male walking down the street scale.

If I figure out which it is, I'll be bottling and selling it.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!