click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:58 p.m. - 2008-06-03
Yes We Can
Well, it appears the moment has come. It seems that Obama will be the DNC nominee. This is so exciting! I will never forget that speech 4 years ago. I knew he was someone worth keeping an eye on. I can't believe how it all actually came together. What a crazy roller coaster!

I can't tell you in the last year how many people have said things to me like "There is NO way it will happen." and "America is not ready for a black president." and "He'll never beat Clinton."

I never stopped believing, even when my own state let us down so miserably.

Who knows what Hilary is up to. I can't tell if she's 1. a little kooky 2. thinking that fighting onward is the best way to secure the Veep position on the ticket or 3. if she has some sneaky trick up her sleeve - is it possible she knows something we don't?

I am a little worried about these swing states in November. Hilary took a lot of them. He may need her to push it through. There is so much excitement about him right now - it's hard to imagine him losing because no one seems really "pumped" about McCain. I worry that the fact is - if Obama loses, it won't be because people thik McCain is awesome - it will be due to many votes cast mainly against Obama, because of issues like race and his last name and that stupid lie about him being a secret muslim extremist.

It is going to be an interesting race - I am really excited. And am going to try to convince my husband that we can put an Obama sign up in the yard. I may have to let him put a crazy Ron Paul sign up too - we'll see.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!