click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:52 p.m. - 2008-05-27
sucky tv, distubring book
Summer is upon us. Almost.

I am pretty much mentally checked out of the after school program. Three more days.

The Penguins are really screwing up the Stanley Cup finals. They breezed through up until now, but currently they are getting creamed by Detroit. I was in a meeting today and mentioned the 0-2 record and we all agreed - well, Detroit kind of needs a boost, no?

OK, so tv this time of year is sparse so I have been doing more reading and such. But tonight I just needed some vegging time. I ended up watching the Denise Richards show.

Now, i like me some reality nonsense. I love The Girls Next Door and Gene Simmons Family Jewels. I like these shows because the people in them are obviously just like themselves. Ditzy, arrogant, whatever. I love the whole Gene Simmons clan.

However, Denise Richards is just kind of a jerk. She is sooooo ridiculously fake and just getting attention. Supposedly, Charlie Sheen threw a fit over this show because his kids are in it, and she responded by saying it was going to be a family show, revealing what a family woman she is. However, it is ridiculous. There are these occasional shots of her kids baking cookies with grandpa who just lost his wife and the rest of it is Denise driving around, buying stuff, trying to act like she is soooo happy and single and fabulous and getting spray tanned and saying the f-word a million times in a row. I know. I know. I should NOT NOT NOT be surprised by this at all. I'm sorry for even telling you this. Because it's stupid.

It's ok - tomorrow So You Think you Can Dance is on and I LOVE that.

I am reading a really good book. It's called Please Excuse my Daughter. It's great. Except. About halfway through, she has an abortion. Rather flippantly. Even though she is from a wealthy family and has a serious boyfriend that she wants to marry. And her mother and aunt just like, joke about it. It made me sad. And it made me feel like my usual argument for it being legal - that women who get abortions are generally not in a good position to have children and it is a heartbreaking decision - is a little weak. I remain pro-choice because while I think it is wrong to do it, I don't think it's anyone's place to legislate it and I know that women will do it anyway, to the point of risking their lives. I remember being very young and seeing the fear in friends eyes thinking they might be pregnant and knowing they would do ANYTHING not to be. There was talk of scalding hot baths, drinking themselves silly, taking too much cold medicine, hitting their own abdomens, and eventually the conversations of where they would get the money to go to a clinic. But, had these not been false alarms, I shudder to think of the lengths they would have gone to - and it WAS legal - and still is. Those initial discussions were of the "I have to take care of this in the most inconspicuous way possible." So, I don't see my position changing. But this was tough to read. I knew that this sort of thing happens - I even knew someone who had a sort of similar situation in her mid 30s. (I met her later in her life.) I am hoping that she revisits this situation later in the book - I'm halfway through and have no clue yet where the title came from so maybe that will factor in?

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!