click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:12 p.m. - 2008-05-08
give
OK, I know that knowing me means having me bug you over and over to donate money to stuff. THANK YOU to those of you who have brought fruit baskets to offset the tuition for low-income families' children, sponsored kids for summer camp, sponsored me for walk-a-thons and donated to Kevin's bike rides for Multiple Sclerosis. Thank you for supporting the things we do to contribute to the causes we care about.

Here comes another one. Let's look at it this way. You can trust me to direct you to organizations that are responsible with the way they handle their resources - like having low overhead and getting the resources to those in need asap. You save all that time doing the research! Woo hoo for time saving! Think of me as your personal nonprofit consierge.

Ok - I'm buttering you up.

This thing in Myanmar is bad bad bad. We have friends working in THailand trying to get into the country to help - they used to live there but weren't allowed to stay any longer because Myanmar is crazy like that. Anyway, they are nearby in Thailand trying to get in there but the country so far has denied their team's entry. While they wait they are organizing resources - food, plastic sheets - to send in. They are able to send in resources even if they aren't able to get in and provide more manpower. They are sending 15,000 pounds of food right now due to $45,000 in donations. They need more. Now.

The people we know who are over there are people with extremely high integrity - I would trust them with my future children's lives.

Here is where you can donate to the organization they are working with. I made a donation just a minute ago and it was simple and fast.

http://www.partnersworld.org/cyclone.html

I know none of us have a lot of money. But we all have 25 bucks. Or 10. If everyone who read this blog donated five dollars, we could make a real difference.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!