click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:49 a.m. - 2008-04-14
books and blonde ambition
Ok, so have I told you about BookSwim? It was my Christmas present and almost certainly the most useful gift anyone has ever given me. Three cheers for observant, thoughtful husband.

This is a service much like Netflix, where you create a queue of books you want them to send to you - and they do. And they include this nifty bag you send them back in.

It's a bit expensive, but when you 1. spend a lot of money buying books and you 2. blow through them quickly and 3. don't actually care about owning them and 4. can't deal with the library (I know, Kelly Cooke and my intern Lizzie who doesn't read this are cringing) then this is the perfect service for you.

Coupled with GoodReads - web sites not related - where you can browse revies of books your friends like (Psst, there is a whole new world of book review networking on there and half the people you know are on...it's like the book version of myspace or facebook or linked-in - go, check it out. www.goodreads.com)

Anyway, today I went on BookSwim and added new books to my list since my two recent deliveries have already been consumed and are now headed back to the magical bookswim warehouse. I have already finished my third book so now I am just waiting for A Girl Named Zippy and Lies My Teacher Told Me to arrive. Hurry...hurry.

I went to a fashion show charity event on Sunday. I didn't want to but there was a ticket available last minute at half price and I knew a bunch of people who would be going. So I went.

We were seated right next to the entertainment for the afternoon - a keyboardist and his wife, almost certainly a former meth user. This woman was about 40, blonde, straight long hair. At a quick glance, she was fine - long tuquoise, sparkly dress. But upon closer inspection, I noticed: You could totally see through her dress. Her stralpess bra and girdle/grandma underwear were clearly visible through the shiny turquoise. She also had a large band aid not very well covering a large bruise/burn or possibly laceration on her arm. Perhaps more importantly, she was not a good singer. At all. She had one of those voices that is pleasant at times - a nice tone. But she hit more wrong notes than right. Pitchy, as Randy might say.

She was also very enthusiastic - lots of hand up, waving in the air and leaning way over or waaaaay back. It was at first distracting, then annoying, then absolutely hilarious. At one point, my friend who organized the event, went over to her and in the most polite way possible asked her to stop singing. She basically refused.

Then she started drinking.

I'm not going to say anymore because there is a you tube video in the works related to this whole situation. Stay tuned.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!