click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

3:45 p.m. - 2008-04-01
scholarships
I have been looking for scholarships since I got accepted into the graduate program I applied for.

I have found scholarships for the following types of people:

Jewish Women from New Jersey attending graduate school

Christian men studying law, dentistry, or agriculture at nine Philadelphia, PA, area colleges.

Scholarships to men from Venango County, PA studying for the priesthood of the Roman Catholic Church.

Currently or formerly homeless women who are pursuing a nursing degree and have been accepted to one of the top five nursing programs in the United States.

Minority students who are enrolled in a graduate MBA program and have spent at least one academic semester in a foreign country

There are NO, I repeat NO scholarships for a married, white woman of British Isle and Eastern European descent, with an employed husband, an extensive history of community service and work with under-resourced populations, who works in nonprofit with at-risk youth, enjoys snorkeling, does not have children, is not too bad at writing and has two cats. But there is pretty much a scholarship for everyone else.

If I could get my dad to work at Walmart for a year, divorce my husband and quit my job to drastically lower my income level and free up my schedule to allow me to attend a full time program, I would be eligible for all kinds of scholarships.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!