click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:03 a.m. - 2008-03-20
men
Yesterday we went to my parents' house and Kevin helped my dad and his friends make about 50 jars of horseradish - it's like a very spicey spread/sauce (but very dense and chunky) for stuff like meat and fish. It's not for the faint hearted. The whole process is very manly - the horseradish is ground up causing everyone in the immediate vicinity to have watery eyes and runny noses. There is cigar smoking, beer drinking and apparently shots of this plum alcohol called Schlivovitz that is spoken of in my family in legendary terms. There are also a lot of nicknames. Bob is always Uncle Bob, my dad is always Uncle Wayne. Kevin is increasingly referred to as K-man - although my dad used to call him Wakeen which he swears is the Spanish version of Kevin. Frank is Cuz. They tell stories and wipe their eyes and have a merry old time.

My mom and I went to dinner and shopping. She bought me an Easter outfit.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!