click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:33 a.m. - 2008-03-19
heart melter
There is this one little girl who is always the last to leave at night - her mom has an exercise class or somethin and always picks her up like two seconds before closing and she does not seem to notice that the lights are out and her kid is the only one there. The little girl is sweet but highly needy. She won't just read or play or use the computer, she wants to be practically in your lap. I am often the last to leave because I have work to do or I just want to give my staff a break.

The other day I was in my office and I let my last employee leave and he said that the girl in question was in the computer lab (right outside my office) and I thought "Oh please, just stay there." It had been a long day. Two seconds later, I heard her come barreling across the hall - no doubt to ask me to find her another web site or watch her do a tap dance or something. I sighed. She comes in and has this huge pile of construction paper in her arms. She dumps them in my lap and says "Ms. Jessi, we made these for you!"

There were all these great drawings and pictures - all of "me" (you cold tell because of the somewhat exaggerated curly hair) in various poses and doing things like typing on my computer, teaching a class, and one that she told me was "you looking out the window to make sure it's safe - no traffic!"

Awwwwww.

Nothing like that to make you feel like crap for being such a stinker, and also amazing for finally having earned a place in some of these kids hearts.

The pictures now grace the walls of my office.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!