click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:21 p.m. - 2008-03-12
work detail

Our Internet works and it is fast.

I go from feeling sick enough to call off work to feeling fine in 10 minutes. I'm in a good moment so I'll say hello readers.

I had to clean up a large amount of blood today. There were numerous playground injuries due to what can only be described as sping fever. The kiddos were NUTS today. You would have thought they have been chained to a wall for the past 5 months. Thank you Lord for a break in the weather - but please watch over the children because they have a tendency to bang into each other as they run crazily on the playground. I actually played tag today - it was hilarious. It took me a while to realize it was the horrible game FREEZE tag - I would tag some kid and then 4 seconds later they would be jumping around and taunting me sceaming "You can't catch me!" and I would scream back "I just caught you fool!" Eventually someone said "I unfreezed him!" Oh. One of the kids said afterward "Ms. Jessi, I didn't know you could run." Ha ha!! That is funny and kind of sad. I can't really, at least not for long distances but I can sprint briefly with the spryest of 6 year olds. I also have to keep mindful of the boundary - it's weird to run and play with them and then twenty minutes later be the mean meanie that I have to be - you know, the laser-eye that I have to convince them that maybe, just maybe, I might Zap! them if they are extra naughty.

Anyway, the two little Chinese twins who regard English as a bug to literally run away from - when any adult in our center tried to speak to them they usually scream and giggle and just run - they thought this whole thing was hilarious.

Did you know blood turns brown and then black and solid-ish if you pour bleach on it? I discovered this after Zach's nosebleed. He was ok until he went to the sink and saw his face covered in blood and he started FREAKING OUT and sputtered and splattered blood all over the damned bathroom. Oh well. Universal precautions, People.

Another playground funny: So every now and again, I, my staff or the children discover used condoms on the playground. Awesome. Some crack whore and her pimp are having at it on the twisty slide after hours. There have been regular condom colored ones (Note to Mother - I have no idea what color a condom is supposed to be. I mean I have no idea what a condom is. What is this condom word...) Anyway, there have been those and red ones and green ones. Snazzy. Children have pointed them out. Once fairly recently, I was with a group and of course there is one on the ground and some 1st grader says "What is that?" And I say "Umm, we'll just have Mr. Gary (maintenance) clean up those...balloons...dirty balloons later."

We have discussed this in staff meetings and I have asked the staff to check around from time to time and immediately report any improper latex items on the playground to the maintenance staff.

So today I came out and was playing with the kids and out of the corner of my eye I see three kids back in the corner of the playground not far from the most recent "balloon discovery"...blowing up "balloons." Arghghghghghghghghghghg!!!! was my first thought. I calmly approached them and Mr. Mike fell into step with me and I kind of pointed, still too freaked out with "What in the hell am I going to say to their parents???" in my head and he started laughing and grabbed my arm and goes "No. No it's ok. It's fine. We did a balloon art project." Whewwwwww.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!