click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:59 a.m. - 2008-02-06
winter
If you haven't seen the Ellen show with the Hawaii chair on it, find it on You Tube and watch because it is hilarious. I really like Ellen by the way.

So, Hilary and Obama...tight race these days. Running for president must be like the day your SAT score is coming in the mail, plus waiting to know the results of a pregnancy test, plus anticipating hearing back after the interview for your dream job, plus waiting for your homeroom teacher to give out the report cards, plus standing in line to read the final cast list for the school play all rolled into one...but for, like, a year.

We had a couple of friends over to watch the Superbowl on Sunday. We had yummy food and the game was actually kind of exciting.

Something exciting but potentially dangerous has happened. We got Tivo on our downstairs tv. It was not on purpose but we switched something...I don't know what - some guy came to thehouse yesterday and took away the silver thing next to the other silver thing above the tv and replaced it with a black thing with cool blue buttons. Now we have a different remote control and now we have tivo downstairs. We have had tivo upstairs for a long time and have always recorded and watched stuff as we fall asleep - but since we both like to watch tv downstairs, we hardly ever use the tivo to record stuff and actively watch it - it's moreso like we have it on while we fall asleep.

But now....man, I can't believe I don't have to choose between American Idol and Biggest Loser - two shows I really like that are on at the same time. I just watched Biggest Loser after House was over. But that meant I stayed up until almost midnight and this is not ok. Four hours of tv watching is too much. Three is too much, too. My justification is that I don't "just" watch tv. We eat dinner and chat and starting around 9, I catch up on all things Internet during that time - blogs, cnn.com, slate.com, email and occasionally, my really guilty pleasure, perezhilton.com

I was reading this article on race and poverty and one of the things it said was that black families have the tv on an average of 11 hours per day. Eleven? The average number white families have it on is like 5.5 I feel like 3 is a crazy amount! I guess if I was home with kids or something, I'd put on Ellen and the View and stuff like that, so I can kind of see how that would happen.

The thing is, this is the time of the year where the weather is crappy and no one feels like doing anything - I haven't walked dogs in a week because it is disgusting outside - like constant rain.

Here's to spring and more outside stuff and less tv. 24 isn't going to be on anyway, so really - who cares.


previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!