click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:07 p.m. - 2008-02-06
kids
Supernanny is showing some boobs tonight. My goodness. It's like she forgot to wear something under her suit. Yikes. I love her though.

Today, I got two new students. They are 6 year old twin girls fresh off the plane from China. Oh my - they are hilarious and adorable. I can't tell if we are going to love them or want to throw them out the window - they are soooooo cute but sooooo crazy. Within two minutes of being in my office with their dad as we went through the enrollment paperwork, they were opening every file drawer, playing with my stapler, tape dispenser and ripping the calendar off my wall. One of the sticky issues that often happens in my line of work is whether and/or how to discipline our kids when their parents are there. On one hand, I feel like I should give the parents room to do it - I can see how they would feel put off by me doing it in front of them. But I also sometimes wonder if they expect me to do it since it is on my "turf". I can't figure out how to ask this in the moment without insulting them - I suspect that part of the problem is that behavior that is unacceptable to me is acceptable to them. So if I say something, no matter how polite, like "Did you want to ask Suzie to stop screaming at the top of her lungs while we are having a conversation?" they may feel insulted or like I'm criticizing them. So, instead, I pretend like nothing is happening while 6 year olds rip the calendar off my wall and knock papers off my desk and throw metal objects into the air (somehow they acquired a metal number 2 like what you'd hang on your house or mailbox for your house number.)

Anyway, these two girls are as cute as little buttons...but I am a little worried about how is is going to go, given their level of wild abandon, especially since they do not speak more than five words of English.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!