click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

6:35 p.m. - 2008-01-29
good news
Some news an other tidbits:

Kevin was offered a position that he decided to accept. Yay! It is a 6 month contract position with a large bank. Don't worry - it has benefits and he will likely have the option down the road of going permanent if he likes it. It's a salary increase which is great and it is an official position in the same capacity that he has been working unofficially in for the past two years. So this is very good news. I am thankful and really proud of him.

I am reading The Golden Compass of His Dark Materials by Philip Pullman and I just CANNOT get into it. I mean, I am on page 140 and I am like just losing steam. It normally takes me about 4 days to read a normal size book but it has been like 2 weeks and I've only gotten halfway. It simply is ont facsinating. I like Fantasy-type books to be fascinating like, WOW, how did they think of that. This is seriously boring. Perhaps a case where I would like the movie better than the book? The story, which could be summed up in two or three sentences is interesting enough but it is just this meandering, overly descriptive (without really describing things enough to picture the scene) blah. To me, good stories are ones where you can really picture it - and I don't think that means details - usually detailed descriptions of locations, houses, etc. bore me to tears. I don't know. I'm just really disappointed I guess.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!