click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:13 p.m. - 2008-01-19
visible crotch outline

I was invited to speak to the Intro to Social Work class at a local university last week. It was kind of exciting and went well. Afterwards I was sitting in the front row and a student came up to the professor to ask her a question. I had one of my interns with me and I glanced up at the same time she did and both of our mouths dropped open. The girl who was talking to the professor was wearing stretch pants. Like, basically, tights. Neon pink. I mean, the kind of thing that you might see on people taking a dance class or in the privacy of their own home if they were working out or something...maybe. However, it was mid day, mid week, on a very snowy, freezing cold day. But the best part was that the stretchy pant-tight things had Victoria's Secret stamped on the back of them. Like, on the butt.

I just could not believe someone would leave their home wearing those on purpose unless they had lost a bet. I mean, I was trying to picture some possible reason why someone would end up wearing those - like she got her nice, respectable skirt that she was wearing over the offending item caught in the door of the bus and it got ripped off and taken away and she was going to be late for class and she's a very dutiful student who has never missed a class in her life and so she went to class anyway, feeling ashamed of her attire but filled with pride that she would not miss class even for something so humiliating...but the fact that she got up and seemed very comfortable chatting with the professor in front of the entire class led me to believe that she felt just fine in her pink panty hose and Ugg boots. I finally just resigned myself to feeling "old."

I've felt "old" before observing the attire of young ladies at dance clubs but never in the bright fluorescent lights of a classroom before.

I am very seriously considering going to grad school this fall or next winter. I will not be wearing stretch pants without something substantial covering the crotch area.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!