click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:49 p.m. - 2008-01-12
juno and a celebrity sighting

We went to see the movie Juno tonight with some friends. Good movie. Fun soundtrack - it sounds like it could have been written by Kelly Cooke. My only issue with the movie is that from the first SECOND the very funny and cool actress who played Juno opened her mouth, I was like "She is totally a lesbian." I don't know - she just seemed really lesbian-ish. And I had a hard time picturing her really being into a guy, which was fairly important to the story unfolding. I know, that's not really fair and there are plenty of lesbians who I would never have known they were gay unless they told me, but this girl...I just could not "buy it" that she was into dudes. I was distracted by this thought the entire movie and kept thinking it was going to end up being a part of the plot - like she ends up falling in love with her best girlfriend or something. Which it's not. Other than being distracted by that, it's a really nice movie. Her dialogue is incredibly witty - almost too witty. No one is that witty in real life. And she was only supposed to be 16. At 16, you're just understanding and starting to recognise pop culture references - not old enough to be in possession of an arsenal of quick wittedness vast enough to allow for every single statement you make to be this perfectly formed, biting sarcasm that alludes to 70s punk music or whatever else she was talking about. I digress. It was good. Go see it.

Anyway, while waiting in line for a Diet Pepsi, I saw an older man coming my way - not like, to me, but in our general direction and as he got closer I thought....I know that guy....after a second it hit me. Cyril Wecht!

I got so excited you would have thought I was a pre-teen having an up close and personal Hannah Montana sighting. Neither Kevin, nor the other two people we were with were particularly impressed by this. But I was really excited. I recall hearing about him first in 8ths grade while doing a research paper on the assasination of JFK and was stunned to learn he was a Pittsburgher back them. I actually looked him up in teh phone book and called him to see if he'd let me interview him for my paper. No answer. No answering machine.

So, I'm excitedly telling this story to my movie going companions and as we went into our theater, he was right behind us and then veered right, into the men's room - I go "OK, Kevin, go in there and -" Kevin: "NO!!! I am NOT doing whatever it is is you were going to say!"

(I don't actually know what I was going to say but I know if I were a man, I would have gone in there - I don't know what I would have said...might have thought of something good on the way in....but....well, maybe my husband has a point...what WOULD you say.... "Um, hi. Nice job on the JonBenet autopsy, Sir." (???)


previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!