click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:44 a.m. - 2008-01-02
2008

Happy New Year!

I have to get ready to go to work in like 7 minutes but I wanted to say hi and happy 08 to everyone.

We had a fun weekend/holiday in West Virginia at a resort called Alpine Lake. We rented a cabin with friends which was amazingly cheap. There was lots of drinking, games, guitar hero and one broken chair, which was not broken by anyone with the last name Marsh.

I got an email from Michael Moore today about the Democratic candidates. Obviously a mass email, not a personal one. He is kind of anti Hilary for her votes for the Iraq war and for her support of the healthcare industry. She has taken a lot of money from them. He isn't totally jazzed about Obama or Edwards either but he likes either of them better, particularly Edwards because he has stated that he will take on the insurance companies and big oil. That's exciting. I'm an Obama girl but Edwards would be ok too.

I can't believe I have to go back to work. How did this vacation go by so fast? I was kinda hoping for a snow day but once again, the weather people exaggerated about the snowfall. I guess it's better to hold off and have this winter's snow days aka days off work, paid later in the year. I don't mind going to work because I like my job but it's hard to let go of the freedom of vacation. That's ok, I get three more days of paid vacation this year than I did last year. That makes 23.

Kevin is job hunting. He still is employed but we're not sure for how long. Maybe a month or so. the great thing is that he recently discovered that he is qualified to be a business analyst and there are quite a few jobs in the Burgh that fit that description. In fact, we met someone over the weekend who happens to be an IT recruiter. He said "Oh, there are tons of jobs like that I'm recruiting for - you can make a lot of money, man." Another friend of ours jumped into the conversation and asked about the opportunities in finance and the recruiter said "Um, yeah, you're not going to make a lot of money." Meanwhile, said friend has been making a significant amount more than Kevin does so maybe that means Kevin's experience and qualifications are worth more than we thought. That is kind of exciting. I can't wait to see what happens. Kevin hasn't looked for a job since the mid nineties because he's been with the same company. We've been worried about what would happen if he didn't take the job he was offered in Chicago. Wouldn't it be funny and wonderful if we suddenly realized he is actually a hot commodity in the business world? He got an email from a company that wants to interview him - a recruiter saw his resume on Monster. We looked into it thinking it was some pyramid scheme or something and it turns out they are one of the fastest growing companies in Pittsburgh.

Stay tuned.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!