click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:16 a.m. - 2007-12-27
Christmas presents
Christmas has come and gone - we had a really nice time with our families. I must have been on Santa's nice list because I got some really great gifts. Some highlights: Three nice pieces of new luggage and spa gift certificate from my parents. Kevin got me the coolest thing - it's a membership to this thing called BookSwim which is like Netflix for boks. I am so excited. I buy and read books like crazy so I am really happy about this. The library just doesn't cut it. They never have what i am looking for and the one near our house doesn't have much of a selection so browsing isn't very exciting. This is such a great idea. Kevin also got me this massage chair thing-not the big actual furniture ones, but the kind that you can either put on top of a chair or sit on the floor against a wall. But it's a good one with Shiatsu-type massaging. I got a lot of skirts and shirts and jewelry and numerous travel mugs which turned into kind of a joke because I lose mine all of the time. I think Kevin got me 4 this year. Kevin also put together our wedding album and gave it to me the night before Christmas which was extremely nice, too. He is so sneaky - I have no idea how he manages to complete these projects without me knowing.

Today, in about 2 hours, we are leaving to experience one of Kevin's gifts, which is still a surprise. I can't imagine he will read my blog in the next two hours, but KEVIN IF YOU ARE READING THIS TODAY STOP RIGHT NOW. I MEAN IT.

.....................................

As you all know, Kevin has this obsession with monkeys. We both really like monkeys but he really really loves them. I finally figured out a gift that would be unique and fun along these lines. I tracked down this wildlife dude who does traveling educational shows for schools and groups of people. Long story short, I called him and talked him into (for a totally worth it price) to let me bring Kevin to his headquarters where they have snakes, leopards, large birds and.....a monkey! We are going there this afternoon (Kevin knows we are going on a little adventure but he doesn't know what it is) and Kevin will get to hold, pet, fee, visit with the monkey. I think the owner guy thinks I am a little weird - I can understand why but I'm like "Dude, you're the one who owns a leopard!" I wish i could take all of you with us so you could see his face, but Kevin said to me last night that he is totally maxed out on being around people. He has spent the last 5 days at parties and family gatherings and said he was really looking forward to having a day with just the two of us.

I am so excited. I need to figure out a way to make sure he doesn't think, upon realization of where we're going and what is happening, that we are taking a monkey home with us. I don't want to blow it and ruin the surprise but I also don't want him thinking we are acquiring a new pet.

I also want to take the video camera, but I don't want this guy to think we're up to something shady and stealing his animal secrets. He was kind of hesitant to let us come to his place because he normally brings the animals out to the customers location - but he would have charged a very large amount to bring the monkey to us - that was my original plan but it was way out of my price range.

I spoke with him this morning and he seems ready for us to arrive - I was worried about that because I planned this three months ago. I have emailed him once or twice to set up the exact date and time, but I was getting worried this was going to ultimately fail to work out somehow.

Well, I will report back about how it all goes once we get back home. Wish me luck.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!