click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:09 a.m. - 2007-12-02
shoe friend

Kevin and I spent about 10 hours yesterday helping Haley unpack. She moved via Movers in the morning and we stumbled out of bed and rolled across town to her place and unpacked more boxes than I can count.

There were numerous funny moments and a little drama. But the most important thing that happened is that I left Haley's apartment owning a pair of shoes that cost $200. Haley gave me three pairs that are a wee bit too big (i.e. my size) and one of them are a pair she bought in Vegas that stretched. It pained her greatly to face reality and part with them but she was glad they were going to a grateful owner.

I have never owned shoes that cost more than $60 and those that have hit near that number were Burkenstocks that I wore the crap out of and tennis shoes that lasted for 3 years. These shoes I just acquired are a totally frivolous pair of gold beaded sandals. I have absolutely nothing to wear with them but I will find something, dammit.

I got two pairs of great winterish heels that are very high and slightly scary - I have fallen down stairs in heels before. But they are really really nice. Haley has also given me a pair of Ugg-type boots recently that are amazing. I have been living in them.

Helping friends move is the right thing to do and seemingly can have some unexpected bonuses.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!