click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:34 p.m. - 2007-11-16
A REFLECTION ON BLOG ISSUES

I have to say this. This is one of those things that is going to make some people get paranoid, but I have to say it. Some of the blogs I read - I have no idea what the authors are talking about. I don't know if they are being cryptic and feeding into only a narrow audience, if they are insane, if they completely don't care if people understand what they are talking about or if I just don't get them - this is probably it. Probably, vice versa, too - some of these people, I notice, have omitted me from their "blog rolls" or links that list their friends' blogs. They don't get it, maybe? But that is probably moreso because I swear too much and can be a tiny bit rude or mean and talk about inappropriate things and those people are offended. That's ok. But if you read it regularly whilst silently protesting, think about THAT!

I took everyone off my blog roll because I felt like it was dumb to list some people and not others or whatever. And I guess, to some people, listing someone's blog on your own blog is like endorsing it. And that gets into a whole other thing.

I also have not gone to great lengths to restore the comments section. Because when I have a comments section, I care too much about people's responses. This way, the blog just is what it is, take it or leave it - I don't worry about who, if anyone is reading. Ha! Maybe no one is. NO, that's not true because I have been bitched at for at least one thing I wrote on here fairly recently and Amy and J-To often interrupt my sentences with "I know..I read."

The comments section on some people's blogs seems to serve as this mechanism for the readers to constantly reassure the blogger. "We're still here!" "You're still awesome!" Nothing wrong with encouragement. We all enjoy that. I appreciate a supportive group of people just like anyone else does. I guess I'm cranky about it because blogging just to blog and blogging to fish for encouragement and compliments are two totally different things. The lines have blurred a lot for me, but really, in my case, it boils down to the comments section. It's like the difference between giving something and receiving something back (transaction at supermarket) versus giving something and just...giving it.

I'm not saying my blog is some fantastic, benevolent gift. Please. But it's a different experience for me, entirely, to just give this to you, and allow you to take it for what it is. Funny. Boring. Nonsense. Negative. Argumentative. Cynical. Obvious. Simple. Incorrect. Trite. Interesting.

Whatever. It just is what it is. Not having a comments section is the only good way for me to not tailor it so people will like it more. Because isn't that what we selfishly want...not to share ourselves, so much, as to want people to like it? I do want you to like it...but really, I want you to like ME. But I've decided that if you like me, you'll read and digest it because you know that you're knowing me more by reading it. And if you don't like me. Ha. Too fucking bad - you never will. And I finally, finally almost don't care. At least enough to leave the damned comments section off.

And while it's harder for me this way, I like it better. At least right now. I may just change my mind. Because, I do that.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!