click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:50 p.m. - 2007-11-08
news flashes, not really

Bloggingatwork. Bloggingatwork.

I don't really have time for this, but my (our) laptop hard drive hardrive harddrive (?) is fried. No blogging or Internet surfing in front of the tv at the coffee table...which is my usual spot from 8pm-11pm and 9am-10am sans tv. This has been hard. But I finished a book in 48 hours because of it.

Last weekend was theraputic. The Capes, The Cookes, The Stallingses and the Marshes. Well, there's a dream team for you. Reunions are nearly impossible to schedule and make happen. But we did it. And I want to do it again soon.

Work for both me and Kevin has been full of stresses. His because of general uncertainty and a general, continual sense of being jerked around. Mine because of funding and personnel issues. We are both deeply engrossed in work problems so we are cranky. The lap top problem sucks, and of course, the Rhoomba broke this week too. And the power source/cigarette lighter of my car which I don't even know why they call it that because frm what I can tell, you couldn't light a cigarette with that thing to save your life. It is simply a hole where I plug in my phone charger. Now it's broken.

The fish tank needs to be cleaned. The fish pond needs to be cleaned out and water should be added. The Halloween decorations need to be taken down. Our bathroom mirror has been broken for at least 6 months. My clothes hamper died and I am now using a large canvas bag. The gutter above our window leaks. The front door is broken. There is a pile of stuff for Ebay that grows every day.

The sad part is that 1. my husband is exhausted by 8pm after 10 hours of eye strain and carpal tunnel 2. the fixing of things duties fall to him because I don't really have a "handy" or a "technology" gene. Maybe I could buy a new hamper but that's about the only task I have any hope of contributing toward. 3. my husband is HORRIBLE about asking for help so he won't. The only time he has ever asked for help was when our furnace quit working last year and it was about 10 degrees outside. His brother does HVAC stuff...but you would have thought he was asking for the world, it pained him so. It was the equivalent to me calling up Kelly and asking her if I could like, have, Iris. Like, to keep.

I am not sure how we are going to get the things done that need to be done while balancing our physical and mental health with working out, resting and spending quality time together and with our families and friends. But I imagine we will get them done eventually...eventually. Or they don't really need to be done.

Moving on.

I have a fancy event to go to tomorrow. I spent an hour yesterday agonizing over what to wear to it. I have two options. While I look charming and hot in both, neither is the slightest bit comfy. I will feel like I am walking around wearing a dried paper-mache creation. One is a black asian inspired tank dress with a matching very awesome jacket paired with high heeled black boots. I think the dress and jacket weigh about 15 pounds, the fabric is so thick and heavy. It is nice but when I look at myself in it, I think "Slightly sexy but formal funeral." And it feels very stiff and like I can't really move. But it sucks everything in properly which is KEY.

The other outfit is a silk and velvet asian patterned (apparently my only formal clothes that don't make me want to vomit or need repaired in some way are asian inspired) beige/brown and green and black skirt with this lacy, bell sleeved shirt thing. Same boots. I don't do panty hose. Besides, boots with a skirt communicate to the world "Careful...I am sensible enough to cover most of my legs in the winter, but I am also slightly dangerous." Do they not?

The problem with this outfit, while it looks smokin' hot, is that the skirt fits weird. It is silk, so no stretch at all and it is slightly too long. It only fits me right and shows off the boots properly if the waist of the skirt is literally all the way up under my boobs. You totally can't tell by looking because the lace top and another shirt that does under in, cover the skirt and gather at the waist, creating a nice silhouette, but...I know it's there...touching the underwires of my bra. And I feel like an old man who is wearing his light blue dress pants up way too high, even though on the outside I look like a decently proportioned fashionista.

I wish I wasn't such a cheapskate, or I, like MDog, could take pics of myself and post them here so you could vote on the outfit choices. But sadly, I stopped paying for the bells and whistles of Diaryland because I am a sensible married woman now, who must spend her income on things like a new cigarette lighter thingie.

Incidentally, today, I resourcefully found a web page with photos from the previous year's event. After carefully reviewing about 75 photos of attendees, I have decided I could possibly go a little less fancy. We'll see.

In other news, Haley has a plan. She is moving back into her old apartment complex Dec. 1st. It has come full circle. This is a good thing. I miss that place.


previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!