click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:48 p.m. - 2007-09-16
Emmys

The Steelers won. Woo. It also looks like my fantasy team will win. Woo.

My cousin Gregg got engaged to his girlfriend Tammie. We really like her and have for a while. They've been together for a few years and even moved to another city together (from Baltimore to Philly.) We recently went on vacation with them and it became evident that everyone was thinking he should really get on with it and ask her already. I mean she's a quality lady and probably wouldn't wait around forever. It's been one of those shit or get off the pot situations for a while. I guess he finally...shit? Somehow that doesn't seem right. Anyway, they are coming up next weekend and we hope to celebrate with them.

OK. The Emmys are on. Here we go.

8:15pm Ryan Seacrest did a really boring opener and then Ray Romano came on and did a slightly less boring opening routine. It was like Ryan called him and was like "Dude, I'm too busy bonking Terri Hatcher to write anything good so can you just come on and sorta fill in, but we won't exactly say you're filling in, you'll just fill in and then we'll go right into something interesting and no one will notice that I shirrked (sp?) my Emcee duties. K? Thanks, Man."

8:30pm Nothing too exciting or surprising to report yet except that the stage is a circle and the audience is seated 360 degrees around it. It's weird and I think it makes people feel weird that about a fourth of the audience s staring at their ass.

8:50pm Tony Bennet and Christina Aguilleurra (sp?) just did this weird awkward song. She sounded terrible. Like she wished she was singing some other song with lots of runs and various vocal acrobatics. It really was unfortunate.

8:55pm Oh Lord. It's Jack Bauer. Yay!!!! He's so gravelly in voice, yet dapper and delish in tux. Woo. But he went to say congrats to Robert Duvall toward his ear and I think Robert thought he was going to cheek kiss him, so he kind of half air-kissed, possibly half pecked Keifer on the cheek. Weird.

9:00 I made a yummy dinner but Kevin fell asleep post Steelers game and thus far, has refused to wake up to eat it. Jerk.

9:05pm Tribute by Queen Latifah, to the miniseries Roots on it's 30th anniversary. Holy Crap has it been that long? That means 20 years ago my house exploded. Because that miniseries was on again for a 10 year anniversary, I guess, and it was right after we moved into our new house. Sadly all I recall about those 8 days that it was on, was that I was pissed that my other shows weren't on. Anyway, back to the Emmys. About 15 people from the Roots cast got up there and tried to choreograph a collective presentation for this year's miniseries Emmy. It was disasterous. And Robert Duvall got it, his second time up there, now. Also the second time the music started to come on to hurry him up.

9:10pm The cheerleader from Heros looks like a big pregnant beige cake. Yuck. Crazy beige empire waist dress, crazy, shiny beige foundation and blush and lipstick.

9:30pm Kevin wakes up demanding dinner. Just kidding. He waited until I offered.

9:35pm Glenn Close's arms look like they belong to a 25 year old male body builder on 'roids. That's steroids, not hemmoroids. (sp?) Seriously her arms are about 3 steps above "You go girl" and just a weensy bit below "Arghghghghghgh!"

9:39pm This group called The Jersey Boys just did this doo-wop song and dance number of "Walk Like a Gay" oops, I mean "Walk Like a Man" but it was gaygaygay. It was also good.

Announcement #1 Men should not under any circumstances wear bracelets. OK?

9:45 Sopranos cast takes the stage. Tears. Sigh. I miss them all. I wish they would all come and live in my neighborhood or something.

Flashback from earlier today: Several of us, while watching the Steelers game, agreed with this statement: I'd watch anything with George Clooney in it.

9:50pm McDreamyDreamyDreamy. Did you know he's doing voiceovers for Mazda in the off-season? That lady who was The Queen, Helen someone, she won something that Patrick Dempsey and Sally Field announced. She is fabulous and poised and well-spoken. And has quite a rack for a lady of her years.

Announcement #2 Ladies, if I can see the bones on your chest, between your boobs and halfway down your stomach (Are those all ribs? I don't know what else they would be. Sternum maybe? Obviously I do not have this problem.) protruding alarmingly against your skin (ahem, Cuddy from House) please do not wear one of those dresses that show these parts of your body. Show some shoulder or knee or something that is supposed to be bony. OK?

10pm Old Irish sounding dude says about 4 totally unintelligble sentences as he accepts boring mini series award.

Does ANYONE watch miniserieses (whoa, THAT looks spelled wrong but Kelly Cooke tells me emphatically that an apostrophe never makes something plural and that it is pretty much always "es" even if it looks wrong.)? So, do you? Does anyone watch these? I don't think you could pay me to watch a miniseries unless Bono AND Geore Clooney were both in it. And a monkey.

10:05pm The asian guy from Heros, whose name in the show is Hiro, pronounced "Hee-roh" which seems just a little silly, is doing something techy on an i-book on the stage. I do not understand what this means. He just like pod-casted someone somewhere else or something and they pod casted back that someone won something boring. Everyone is clapping for Al Gore now. Wait. What is going on? I must have missed something relevant. Sorry. I'm not even sure what a pod-cast is. I just called it that because it seems like maybe that is what a pod cast is. Is it just like a live video link? That you can also view/play later? I don't know why we need these but lots of people make them or show them or cast them or whtever you are supposed to say.

10:10pm The Academy Awards is up for an Emmy. Okaaaay.

10:12pm Tony Bennet thanks Target, the retailer responsible for over half of my wardrobe and all of my underwear, salsa and hair products, in an oddly heartfelt way.

10:14pm Terri Hatcher is shiny shiny shiny. Someone get her some Aveda blotting tissues!

10:40 Jon Stewart is great.

10:41 Ricky Jervais wins best actor in a comedy series and Steve Carrel, also nominated, runs up to accept it for him. That was pretty funny.

10:42 Felicity Huffman sports the extreme low-cut, torso bone showing look.

10:43 Sally Field gives a rousing mildly anti-war speech that the system conveniently cuts off. She might possibly have said the big "G-D."

On that note, I'm going to bed. A midday Steelers game really takes it out of me and means early bedtime. Goodnight.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!