click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:56 a.m. - 2007-08-28
Please scan your...ONIONS

Haley and I joined a gym yesterday. This is a good thing and I am looking forward to going. We found a nearby place that only charges 100 bucks for the year, which is a great deal. We had originally found an even closer gym that had a cheap deal and allowed you to go month to month. We went over to join, Kevin in tow, promising him that we would quickly take care of the paperwork and then head to the grocery store. Unfortunately when we got to the first gym, we discovered that it won't actually be open until December. They are signing people up now, but it will not be functional for at least four months. Grrr.

We were not happy about this so we decided to pop over to the other place we had heard about. We went in, got the tour, did the paperwork, and then after we paid we were told that in order to complete our enrollment, we had to visit the chiropractor upstairs to have him sign a waiver of some sort. We were highly annoyed by this, especially because Kevin was very patiently waiting for us the whole time. (Poor guy just wanted to go to the grocery store to buy a lightbulb.)

We proceeded upstairs to the chiropractor and I attempted to bypass the whole procedure and talk the receptionist into just giving us the form we needed. What a scam. They have this deal with the chiropractor office where they try to get you to admit that you've ever had back pain or whatever and if you say you have, they say you have to get adjusted before you can work out! I was sooooo mad. Plus she didn't even want to let us see him that day - at first she was saying we had to make an appointment for another day. I was getting really really mad and about to demand my money back and forget the whole thing, but she finally said she'd try to squeeze us in. We waited in this little room for the "doctor" to come in and were given these papers to fill out. According to the papers we handed in, we have never drank alcohol, had a headache, been stressed out or had any kind of illness or pain ever. I think he finally got the hint and just gave us what we needed. Sheesh.

I think Kevin wanted to kill us at this point. But we eventually made it to the grocery store where haley insisted I try the self-checkout. Ok, look. I am not a self-check out kind of person. There is too much going on. Scanning, swiping your club card, bagging, couponing, paying, re-loading cart, getting your receipt and your new coupons, plus that voice yelling at you "Place item in bag!" "Please scan your....ONIONS!" "You have three....ONIONS!" Arghghgh!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!