click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

7:21 a.m. - 2007-08-10
she is also five!

Because The Teet and Jess M have acknowledged my no-comments-section plight, I'll soldier on.

Today is my last blessed day of summer camp. I am so freaking happy. The past 8 weeks have felt like a year. Don't get me wrong, i really do enjoy my job. But I enjoy the part where we only have the kids around for 3 hours a day MUCH more. i really do not like getting up so early - well, the getting up early thing has grown on me a little, but I wish I had more time to ease into my morning, instead of rushing around. Very soon, I will be back to the relaxed morning routine that i enjoy.

Yesterday, God answered my very sincere prayer for rain. I didn't want to go to Idlewild Park at all. I had taken a couple of kids to Sandcastle the day before and they were kind of bratty and the thought of taking 60 of them to a large amusement park sounded horrible.

Haley and I came back to the house Wednesday evening from a night out - oh, Haley is kind of staying with me on and off due to increased drama - We looked at the news and it just said something about it being really muggy the next day. I sent up a short but passionate prayer for rain as i went to bed dreading all of the craziness to come the next day. I tossed and turned and had visions of lost children, transportation mishaps and bitchy moms wanting to come with us even though there would be no room on the bus.

On Thursday, I woke to complete darkness and a monsoon. There were three huge storms that came through the area in the morning, afternoon and evening. There were tornado warnings and massive floods. We had to cancel our trip and go to the movies instead (which is no big deal...just herd them in and sit for two hours and herd them out.) Thank you Jesus. I apologize to all of the people in the river towns for their flooded basements and those folks who had to climb onto the roofs of their cars to escape the swirling waters.

This little boy, our youngest camper just turned five. He is from India and has a really cute accent and I sat next to him. Every two minutes he would tap my arm and say "Ms. Jessi, do you know what?...." He has a lot of observations and questions and I absolutely love his use of verbs. "Ms. Jessi, do you know what...I am being visiting in India next week to be visiting my family. Have you been going to India? I will having chicken when we get home. When I am growing big I am driving an airplane and will being the one to drop things on the bad people." There was a lot of talk of soldiers after one of those annoying army recruitment commercials came on before Shrek 3. Bastards. I can't help but wonder who a five year old from india living in Pittsburgh thinks are the "bad" people. The world is a complicated place.

The best thing he said was when i was asking him about his family, if he had brothers or sisters, etc. he said: "I am having brothers but no sisters. Except for one. But she is not being my sister she is being my girlfriend." Girlfriend? I asked. Aren't you a little young for a girlfriend. He looked at me indignantly and said "She is also five!" Oh, ok.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!