click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:12 p.m. - 2007-07-11
ooh, look - titles.

OK, so it's been a crazy week. Cray-Zeee.

Kevin's birthday dinner, at which we were waited on by the World's Dimmest Waitress. She was peppy, bubbly and cute. I actually thought she would be a hoot to hang out with. She responded to any information with starry-eyed delight and started many sentences with "ooooh." As in "Oooh, nachos - yum!" or "Ooooh, it's your birthday? Yay!" Then she asked my dad how he wanted his porkchop cooked, as in well, medium, rare, etc. We all looked at each other and I wondered if she had been responsible for the death of any previous customers as a result of undercooked pork. We all stifled giggles unsucessfully. My dad coughed out the world "Well!" and then when she left, many trichenosis (sp?) jokes were made. My mother ordered a Smirnoff Ice with a glass of ice and despite my mom repeating herself numerous times, the waitress thought she wanted a glass of vodka - I almost let this one go just for the entertainment value but eventually intervened using hand gestures and we eventually got the point across using key words including "bottle," "malt beverage" and "wine cooler."

I was intimately involved in a friend's rather dramatic break up. i love this girl like a sister, and I feel sad for the situation. But a good old fashioned meltdown certainly livens things up - broken glass, drunkenness, arguments via text message, maybe a stray boob or two.

A brief trip to the hospital - not for myself and everything is fine anyway so that's a big.....whew. I am grateful.

Dinner with the Baumgardeners - woo for Amy's shredded chicken thing, margaritas and for the burly men we're married to lifting heavy things.

The best part of this adventure although this is going to sound pretty awful no matter how I put it) was when Kevin and Scott drove out to Amy's dad's house (p.s. Amy hopefully your dad doesn't know about my blog and read this) to bring a desk over. Amy's dad's girlfriend was involved and none of us had previously met her. On the guys' way back they called us - each husband in the car on their cell phone with their respective wife so it was like a 4-way conversation - and Amy inquired anxiously about the new girlfriend who was in the truck behind them also on her way with Amy's dad to the house to join us for dinner. Somehow the conversation just got out of hand and the guys convinced us that the interactions had been terribly awkward and the woman was hiddeously ugly - like the kind of ugly that would make you uncomfortable, especially in the context of them having ummm, relations of some sort with your father, who happens to be a really nice and reasonably good-looking fellow. We worked ourselves into a real tizzy imagining the ensuing awkwardness and how we were going to have to act totally normal and be completely open-minded, no matter how bad it was. But with all of this 4-way conversastion nonsense, things just get over the top and by the time they pulled into the driveway we were screaming and hiding and running around the house trying to look out the window to catch a glimpse to have a heads-up on what we were actually dealing with. Of course she was absolutely 100% normal. Kind of sweet and natural looking. And nice as pie. All four of us are horrible people.
Today, four people who never call me have called. Spags, Travis, Gabe and Patrick. Well, Gabe actually text messaged me. As of 11pm i had already clocked about 3 hours of talk time on my phone and my husband was rolling his eyes and leaving the room every time the phone rang or beeped indicating an incoming text message. Sorry, Patrick - I was about to get divorced if I picked up my phone again. People, my husband is gone all next week. Please call me every day next week and I promise I can talk! Patriak - I will call you as soon as my ear swelling goes down.

Seth, thanks for the html info - you are great.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!