click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:48 a.m. - 2007-06-24
wedding, done
The wedding I was in is over so I feel like I can breathe a little bit again. It was overall a very nice event. We had a good time last night except for the 45 minutes the bridesmaids and groomsmen spent kneeling during the service and the almost three hours between the ceremony and when the bridal party arrived at the reception during which Kevin had to entertain himself in a room full of strangers. But the food was good and the dancing was fun. It was pretty extravagant and a little over the top in some ways: let's just say at one point I had to jingle a tambourine for a while. But it was really well planned and everyone seemed to enjoy themselves a lot.

I dated a guy named Chuck, in high school for about 5 months. He took me to my senior prom. Well, it turns out his little boy was the ring bearer in the wedding. I saw him at the reeption and said hi and introduced Kevin. Chuck pointed out his wife, the little boy, plus a little girl that belonged to him, and a much older boy who he said was 11. I quickly did the math in my head and began to realize that an 11 year old would possibly have been conceived right around the time we were dating, but then he quickly said that he wasn't the biological father, but he had raised the kid since he was about 1 year old. Whew. Not that I would have cared, but it would have been really awkward. Yikes. How would one respond to that - oh so you got someone pregnant while we were dating 11 years ago? Umm, congratulations?

We got home around 11:30 and both just passed out on the couch, totally wiped out. It was a long day.

Kevin leaves for Chicago tomorrow. I've been spoiled having him around for so many weeks in a row.

Today, I think I'm going to see a movie with Amy and Scott while Kevin checks a few things off his list, and the tentative plan is to have them over for dinner after that. Cooking calms me and makes me feel like I am serving the people I love.

Hopefully with a week under our belts, week 2 of summer camp will go a little more smoothly.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!