click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:08 p.m. - 2007-06-18
the problem of pain and Dr. mike
I am in a foul mood. Sometimes I wish no one read this so i could say what was on my mind instead of being all cryptic and making everyone feel like I'm mad at them, specifically. It's funny how many "So, what was that all about?" emails I get when I write those kinds of things. I appreciate them, though. So thanks. Especially Kels, because she knows she ALWAYS has a full access back stage pass to whatever pisses me off. Even though she is the most likely to say "You're overreacting." or "stop being so selfish." or whatever. I let her do that because when she says "Wow, that person really does suck" or whatever, I know she totally means it and I feel 100% justified in whatever I'm mad about.

But my blog is not a diary so this is not the place for bitching about annoying things that people do unless it's funny. And this one ain't funny, so let's all move on with our lives for the time being.

Matt and Bev's baby is so cute. I held him when we got to visit with them on Saturday and he only cried a wee bit. Babies that young scare me a little, like they are just a blob that is going to slide off my lap into a puddle of baby goo on the floor. Little Isaiah makes the BEST faces though. I mean, really extra-good ones. Yay!

It was also good to see the Lozeckis and the Wilkeses and the rest of the crew. We just gabbed and gabbed - usually i get antsy after like an hour of such gatherings, but it was fun for at least 3 times that long. Mr. and Mrs. Hale (Ed and Nancy) are always so hospitable and kind to their guests. I am very glad we went.

Amy and Scott are really fun. Have I mentioned this? We all four really enjoy each other and there is a little special mutual level of comfort there that just is. It's nice. And they are like a freakin' comedy act. But also smart and pleasantly jaded.

It is the first week of summer camp - Lord help us. Mass chaos today. a zillion new kids. a zillion new parents. I think after a couple of days it will be fine - fun even. But today was a real doozy.

I also went to the chiropractor today. He X-rayed me and joked a lot that he promised he wouldn't kill me. And as I sat and waited in his office, a larger than life sized model of a spine that was kind of bendy with all of the different vertebrae interlocked and whatnot that was sitting on a chair, propped against the wall, suddenly and without visible cause, slid down and tumbled onto the ground onto its side. Gulp. Needless to say, this felt quite ominous.

Tomorrow, after he has viewed my X-rays and determined the problem(s) the cracking and crunching of the jessi-spine begins. I am scared and excited.

You have never realized how many things are wrong with you until you visit a chircopractor. You have to fill out this lengthy chart that involves your entire body. You have to fill in a scantron circle next to each body part where you have pain, from the left area of your forehead, to your right elbow to your left baby toe. Then, you have to indicate whether the pain is stabbing, sore, numb, tingling, stiff, weak, burning, throbbing, aching or shooting, how severe it is, the frequency with which it occurs and whether it is improving, getting worse or stays the same. And you suddenly realize you have aching mild frequent headaches, constant mild aching; occasional moderate shooting, stabbing back problems in two different areas, occasional stiff weak wrists, frequent severe stabbing shooting left butt and thigh pain (this is new and the reason I went in the first place) and occasional stabbing aching knee issues. (My elbows and ears are totally, totally cool though. They should probably win awards for how awesome they are.) I've learned to live with all but the thigh and butt thing, which my mother has also exprienced and aptly described as feeling similar to having a severe toothache in your bum. (Though, sadly, that was not one of the descriptions offered as an option on the scantron.) The chiropractor, Dr. Mike, who, in his literature refers to himself as Dr. Mike with the MIKE in bold italics and underlined (I am not sure what this means) starts poking and prodding at my neck and commenting on how tense it is and suddenly, I realize, wow, my neck is like a tangled ball of barbed wire with a few birds and possibly an antelope stuck in it, it's so knotted up.

It's amazing what you decide to live with. Especially for someone who has been repeatedly accused of having a ridiculously low pain threshold. When I was in elementary/middle school I got plantars warts on my feet and thumbs and needed to have them removed. after the first visit to the dermatologist where there was a lot of screaming (during the application of some nuclear grade chemical that came out of a freaking blow torch!) my mother staunchly refused to take me anymore. My dad, 1. always believing the best in me, 2. having a great deal of sympathy, and 3. being intimately familiar with my mother's occasional propensity toward exaggeration, gamely volunteered only to end up asking the doc if there was a back door he could sneak out to avoid walking through the nearly full waiting room of acne covered kids and their parents, because he was so mortified at his daughter and her banshee-like shrieking. (That was probably the reason for my father's look of pure glee while walking me down the aisle - ha, she's all yours now, buddy!)

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!