click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:38 p.m. - 2007-05-28
fonts, perfume and bras
This year marks the 50th anniversary of the font, Helvetica. It really is a nice font. Clear, simple, clean. Basic but not unfriendly. Like the people who do the 6:00 news. It seems, according to an article I read on Slate, that it is widely used because it is very readable at nearly any size. Helvetica is the font used for the NYC subway system signs, for example. I, myself, am very partial to Georgia - I use it for everything at work, from emails to official letters. I like how my name looks in Georgia. It's clear and easily readable, but (in my opinion) a step up from Times New Roman and at least three from Arial. I really do not like Arial. Arial is like the store brand of fonts, no, the off-brand. Or even the crap in the discontinued item bin that is dusty or sticky and slightly leaking and has like 4 orange stickers stacked on top of each other, taking the item down to about .47 and making you wonder if you will die if you allow it into your shopping cart next to the avacados. Arial sucks.

Batang and Garamond are good substitutes if Georgia is unavailable. They are both nice and slightly bubbly, but still very readable. Incidentally, I am pretty sure Garamond is is the font used in the Harry Potter books.

Do you have a favorite font?

I have a working theory - people who have favorite fonts are the kind of people who have signature scents. Perfumes that they feel portray their personality to people's noses. I, obviously am one of these people. Angel by Thierry Meugler is my going out fragrance - any going out besides regular work. It's my favorite but it's expensive and a little "much" for wearing while chasing around the kiddies and staff meetings. Angel has varieties that are lighter (Floral and Innocent) and heavier (Alien) and I like them all but not as much as the original. My every day scent is Moonlight Path by Bath and Body Works and it absolutely the only scent in that store that is wearable. To me, everything else in there smells like drunk, underage college girls on spring break screaming "woooo!", something in the produce aisle or your great aunt mildred's bathroom. Victoria's Secret, Rapture is my "Honey, you're going to get some tonight" scent. It smells like classy, sexy romance. It's what I imagine Cathrine Zeta Jones wears.

Speaking of Victoria's Secret, I went in there today with a gift card that Little Kel gave me for my birthday expecting to be able to get a few lip glosses or maybe 2 pairs of undies for the amount of the gift card - which is still great. Vicki's lip gloss and undies are of the highest quality! But it turned out they were having an amazing bra sale. AND they recently began offering my (er, curvy) size! They used to only offer certain sizes in stores and the rest online. Once you factor in shipping, I pretty much never buy anything for my top half there even though their bras really are great. (They shape the twins well and last a long time!) So, needless to say, I got a bra I never would have bought without the gift card AND the sale AND the new sizes being available. It was the perfect storm. Yay! (I apologize to my male readership for all of the underthings info.)

My husband and Henry the cat are sleeping on the couch right now as I type this and I must say they both look snuggleicious!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!