click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:11 p.m. - 2007-05-26
Step by Step, ooh baby
I was thinking about carpets. Did they invent carpets before they invented vaccuum cleaners? If so, what did they do to cope with the nast that accumulates? Every now and again, i get grossed out by the carpet and start using the rolly tape thing that we use to get the cat hair off the couch or our clothes and I get down on all fours and use it on the actual carpet. We vaccuum frequently, or rather, now, our Roombah does. But somehow it misses a lot of non-visible dirt, fuzz and people and cat hair. I am seriously grossed out by this. When I do this, Henry the cat comes up and tries to grab the rolly because he think I am playing with him. So I rip off the tape section that is currently being used and stick it on him which makes him freak out and run away and hide in the corner and give me this look that says "You, evil, evil, woman, I curse you!"

They are doing road work on a street in our neighborhood and there is a big orange sign that says SLOW DANGER. Not: Slow. Danger. But rather SLOW DANGER. This makes me chuckle - watch out everyone! There is slow danger afoot!

The other day I was on my way to work and had only a cushion of about five minutes to get to a meeting on time. The previous day, I had to take a small detour to work because of road work, so I went a different way. About ten minutes into the trip, traffic on a main road came to a total stand still. i sat in it for about five minutes and decided to turn around and go back to go a different way. To make a long story short, I am not exaggerating, I hit THREE different roadblocks and/or detours and was over 30 minutes late (it normally take me 15-20 minutes to get to work. It was one of those time when you look heavenward and go "Ummm, ok. Do you not want me to go to work today? Because I could happily spend the day bargain hunting at Target."

I neglected to mention this earlier - sorry, because it's the most interesting thing to happen in a while. I was out for a bachelorette party recently and in a club we had just walked into, someone goes "Hey, i think that was Donnie Wahlberg!" My bachelorette friend got surprisingly excited about this, so i walk through the crowd and find him. He was talking to some girl, but I tap him on the shoulder and go "Hi, I'm Jessi. It's my friend's bachelorette party and she really wants to meet you." He smiles and says sure. I take his hand in this very buddy/mom like fashion and as politely as possible drag him through the crowd. Multiple people tried to stop us but I was very firm. when w finally got back to my group, I shimmyed into the little dancing circle of bachelorette party girls and go "Hey, Kelly, Donnie Wahlberg wants to say congratulations." He was really really nice - took a couple pictures with us, said congratulations, etc. I thanked him and sent him on his way. It was pretty great. It seems he is filming a tv movie here or something. We're buds now.

Just yesterday, there was a New Kids on the Block song on the radio, and it was really weird to think about how much I was in love with every single one of them 20 years ago. Well, maybe not Danny. Anyway, it would be the equivlant to me now meeting Bono or Barack or something. Maybe when i'm 50 I will and it will be no big deal.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!