click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:33 p.m. - 2007-05-16
kels kels kels
Kelly Cooke is one of my top three non-family members in the world. She also outranks many blood relations, just to be clear. Girl, you blow my second cousin, Vince, out of the water!

The last question in my interview she answers by beginning with "this isn't that much of a mystery" and she's right. To us, the lasting nature of our friendship is no mystery, no big deal...just kind of "duh." I've had some rough times with some really really wonderful people, though. So sometimes, I just kind of revel in the fact that my friendship with Kels hasn't had any major bumps or even any "stalls." She's just there in a very important way, the way you expect your morning paper or, say, the toilet, to just be there when you need it and even when you don't.

I love Kelly because we are kind of like yin and yang, with a little bit of important overlap. I am an after school special, Kelly is "Fresh Air on NPR." I am hair products. She is Gardening tools. I am red. She is light blue. I am a movie. She is the book. But the overlaps are suprprising to the unfamiliar eye, and many.

Kelly and Matt have pretty much defined the term "successful relationship" to me and have truly become what i imagine having siblings you get along with feels like. Kelly is going to be such a fantstic mother. I can't wait to meet this kid. The DNA is in her favor.

Oh, and she copy/pasted the questions and answered them in such a way that I didn't have to add any spaces or anything. You really are the best.

Ok, drum roll....

1. What is it like being over 7 months pregnant?

incredible. i love it every day. she's moving all over right now
because i just ate some food. pregnancy has been a very sweet, very
thoughtful, and very anticipatory time for me and for us together.

2. How do you like living in Athens?

eighty-five percent (don't start a sentence with numerals) of the
time, i love it. in the other 15%, it is deep winter or i am uptown
on a saturday night and young drunk women are getting their high heels
stuck in between the bricks in front of my car. other than that, it
really feels like a community here, full of people who care about good
things.

3. Name the top five events in your life in the last three years.

finishing grad school, buying a house, going to france, finding out i
was/am pregnant, getting my first myspace profile.

4. If you won the lottery what would you do?

you're asking this to embarrass me. the honest answer is, i would
live very much the same as i do now. i would invest the great
majority as wisely as i could. and probably go to europe with matt for
a time. and maybe get a daily (!) subscription to the new york times.

5. You are forced to own three pets that cannot be kept solely in
cages, What are they?

ugh. i have no idea. i do not like pets of any kind. i'd be willing
to allow three ants of the same sex to roam free in our home. maybe
three goldfish because i'd know they would die soon. sorry.

6. Is it hard to not drink wine or coffee and such whilst making a
baby grow in your belly?

not really. i think that beverages such as those enhance life to a
significant extent, but what's nine months? it's not a big deal for
me. and, i'm learning to appreciate milk.

7. What is the next purchase over 100 dollars you are likely to make?

we just bought a new laptop, so likely nothing for awhile.

8. What are you going to name the baby? (ha ha, sneaky I is)

if you keep this up, i'm not telling you until she's five.

9. If you could never read or listen to music or garden again, what
hobbies would you pursue instead?

car detailing, oration, and d&d.

10. Cyndi Lauper. Discuss.

awesome. i nearly wore out "she's so unusual" in elementary school
(side b: pointer sisters greatest hits). my favorite song might be
'time after time.' another favorite is 'when you were mine.' ben
cape put a crooked fingers cover of that song on a cd for us and i
love it. there's a banjo on it.

11. What do you look for in a friend?

in old friends: willingness to hang around for the long-term,
willingness to be real and to not run away at conflict, funny-ness.
new friends: cares about how to do things and about real stuff, versus
caring about things that one watches (t.v., movies, internet). those
things bore me and i don't want to get together so we can stare at a
screen together and not talk. life is short, everybody.

12. Last song you listened to?

um, i don't know. the last album i listened to was laura veirs.

13. Last instrument you played?

guitar with sarah filipiak a couple of months ago. we were on a good
roll and then faded out....

14. Describe the perfect road trip...to where, with who, for how
long, in what sort of vehicle?

i think about this every day. matt and me in northern california
(anywhere between san francisco and seattle) in a vanagon for a
summer. or, same vehicle and company and length of time, somewhere in
europe.

15. Best Invention of the last ten years.

my initial response is "nothing." the old ways are nearly always
better. our lives are filled with so much junk that make us more
sedentary and boring and not knowing how to do anything or how
anything works, or otherwise distances us from others. this is what
the phrase 'modern inventions' makes me think of. i really can't
think of anything. the salad spinner? that's over ten years old.

16. If you had to have a bumper sticker on your car what would it say?

well, there is one on there that says "social workers for strickland."
my friend has one from the clinton library that says, "i miss bill."
i might slap that one on there.

17. Your three best qualities? 18. Worst?

these were on the last interview/survey you had me do. they're
probably the same.

19. Can you name three professional football players (current)?

ha ha! this is making me laugh out loud. no. i can't name one. oh,
wait. you told me about "the bus" last year. he plays for pittsburgh
and maybe got in a motorcycle accident.

20. How have we gotten so successfully through 10+ years of friendship?

oh, i don't think it's that much of a mystery. i think we are both
fairly open-minded to the number of ways there are of "being," so
that allows us to accept differences in each other in a rather real
way. we let each other change and to make decisions and such with
minimal eye-rolling. unless the change or decision deserves an
eye-roll, and then there is discussion. it's been a successful set-up so far.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!