click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:12 a.m. - 2007-05-16
ben
Time for a new series of interviews. As some of you know, I secretly aspire to be Barbara Walters, but hipper.

First up, Ben Cape. It pains me to say this but I have not seen Ben Cape in about 3 years. There is something wrong with that. But he does keep in touch via the occasional forwarding of highly thought provoking news articles that I never would have read otherwise. Ben is smart, steadfast, faithful, gentle, thoughtful, thorough and really really funny. Especially when he and Bethany are together. That's comedy.

I give you...Ben Cape.

1. What is it like being a dad?

Better and different than expected. I thought I would change a lot as a person, but I don't know if I have changed that much. I worry about different things. Part of the pleasure is seeing the kind of person Naomi is becoming. She is not like I expected my daughter to be. She is a lot more fun and outgoing.

2. How are you dealing with starting a new job, moving, considering buying a house and having a 2 year old?

OK. A lot of it has to do with finding a job, which gives me a peace of mind. If that wasn't in place, I would be more upset with everything. Everything else is not so much a mystery but something else to do. Bethany and I talked recently about how well we have been taken care of. I find solace in that.

3. Name the top five events in your life in the last three years.

1. Remaining married2. Naomi 3. Finishing classes. Twice.4. Finding a new job. Twice.5. Seeing Jeff Tweedy live.

4. If you won the lottery what would you do? Try not to lose it. This seems to happen to a lot of people

5. You are forced to own three pets that cannot be kept solely in cages, What are they?

Two dogs and a duck, and they all get along and have wild adventures.

6. what is the cutest thing Naomi has done lately?

I was coloring with her and she came over and looked over my shoulder and said, "Good job."

7. What is the next purchase over 100 dollars you are likely to make?

Many things. Unfortunately, I don't want to buy any of it (e.g. car repair, moving expenses, etc.)

8. Something you appreciate about your wife?

I can tell her anything.

9. Most embarrassing thing that has happened to you in the last year?

Nothing comes to mind. I've let some pretty big mistakes get into the paper at work. I once wrote a headline that was supposed to be about a fundraiser for diabetes research. The headline ended up being something along the lines of a fundraiser in favor of diabetes. Go diabetes!

10. Bruce Springsteen. Discuss.

The songs I like I can count on my hands. Also, one of the most disappointing concerts I have ever been to. Tacoma. 2003. $75 seats in the way back. Didn't know half of the songs he played and Bethany and I probably got more enjoyment out of watching people lose their minds during "Born to Run" than the actual concert. All that being said, if he is brought up in conversation, I would say, "Oh, he's great." Odd, no? 11. Most interesting way you've seen someone close a letter?Nothing comes to mind.

12. Last tv show you saw and enjoyed?

I saw a Front Line documentary on PBS about soldiers in Iraq writing about that war. I can't really say I enjoyed it, but I was transfixed by it and watched it with a lump in my throat the entire time.

13. If the Presidential elections were tomorrow, who would you vote for?

I wouldn't vote for anyone. That may sound like a cheap answer but I refuse to take it seriously until at least this winter. Too early.

14. Describe the perfect road trip...to where, with who, for how long, in what sort of vehicle?

Anywhere with Bethany and Naomi in a car with a check engine light that is not illuminated.

15. Tell us something that you are awesome at.

Remembering trivial facts. I am good at Jeopardy.

16. If you had to have a bumper sticker on your car what would it say?

Jesus is coming ... look busy.

17. Your three best qualities?

Like to learn. Can empathize with other people. Like to see everyone get along.

18. Worst?

Too nosy. Too judgmental. Like to see everyone get along.

19. Tell us about a book we should all read.

The Life You Save May Be Your Own. A biography of Flannery O'Connor, Walker Percy, Thomas Merton and Dorothy Day. Four imperfect people trying to live lives of faith. I got more out of it than all other Christian books I have have ever read. I have bought and given away more copies of this book than any other.

20. How have you gotten so successfully through 7 years of marriage?

Marriage is hard, but being married to Bethany is easy.


previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!