click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:03 p.m. - 2007-05-10
an interesting day
OK, so Mae got a letter from an amazing musician and the letter pretty much said they might ask her to open for them some time. Good heavens. It's moments like this when I remember 6 years ago or however long ago it was, when the little shrimp of a freshman tentatively asked ME if she could play on the worship team. And how she looked at me when I told her at one point that she would be singing with me. hahahaha...I love that little look of "are you crazy?" mixed with honor and terror. And how pretty soon, I realized she was much, MUCH better than me. These days even the highest limits of my musical talent only reach the karaoke stage. But this girl, she records albums. And people will pay money to see her. And Linford writes her letters like they are old buds. I love this. It really doesn't have anything to do with me, of course. It just makes me so glad that I got to see this from pretty much the beginning. I love this. LOVE. Happy. Yay!

Today, I went to a conference where the following two things happened:

I was a smidge late (I know, hell has frozen over) and I had to sneak in during the breakfast keynote speaker. Who on earth schedules a non-profit conference to begin at 8am. sheesh. Anyway, I snuck in, and scanned the room of over 1,200 people, looking for my co-workers and hoping that my psycho on-time-ness has bought me a get-out-of-jail-free card. Thanks to one of my favorite co-workers who saw me looking and scanning desperately...not only did he come to get me, but he steered me to or agency table by way of the coffee cart (Bless you, IT guy!) I tiptoes through a bunch of chairs and people and tables and give a little "Sorry!" whisper to my boss, who was looking especially fab with her cute new haircut - she just kind of waved like "No problemo Chica." I settled into my seat, sipped my coffee and looked around. At the very next table, my eyes locked onto a dreadful sight. My old boss. Scary, mean, bi-polar, ruined my life for the short amount of time I allowed her to, crazy, insane, controlling, penny-pinching, paranoid, mean mean mean mean mean semiperson-boss. You know someone is truly awful when you have a physical reaction to being in the same room as them. My heart started racing and i felt all prickly.

I spent the entire day avoiding her and worrying i'd encounter her every time I went to the bathroom. I clung to my now-boss like a puppy or a freshman at her first frat kegger, which was odd because I knew about 20 people there. (note: I just edited this and originally had written "fart kegger" which would have been awesome, but ruined the point a bit.)

I did manage to avoid her although I had to walk right by her, like within 3 feet several times.

The thing that is ridiculous is that last year, when I wanted to go to this conference, she wouldn't pay for it and almost wouldn't let me go at all. She said it was "a colossal waste of time." And there she was to ruin my nice day with my co-workers. Grrrr. I hope a big rabid raccoon poops on her porch tonight. And she steps in it in the morning. But I'm not bitter or anything. :)

The other Thing that Happened is that I was introduced to an aquaintence of my co-worker. the three of us were chatting and within 2 minutes, she said the following (this quote is not quite verbatim but it's close): "Yeah, so my life is getting really exciting right now...I'll be pregnant in like three days. (enter 4 raised eyebrows). I'm going to be a surrogate. I've wanted to be pregnant ever since I was 30. now i'm 43 and it's finally happening in like three days. Well, they haven't officially chosen me but I've talked to them. I talked to the woman today and she is so excited about me. We're both into the spiritual stuff. I mean, her husband and her son are both psychics like me."

Imagine me trying to participate in this conversation.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!