click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:29 a.m. - 2007-04-30
weekend rewind
Greetings and happy Monday.

Mondays aren't nearly so bad when you like your job. I have to get ready for work in a bit but I thought I'd provide a weekend recap.

Friday was my agency's employee appreciation party. It was a nice dinner and my staff and I had our own table. It was the first time we've socialied together and it as very enjoyable. Some people, including yours truly, were mentioned for various things (I was noted for being "an emerging leader making her mark"...how about that!) and people with anniversaries (working for the agencyh for 5, 10, 20 years, etc) and then our director made some encouraging remarks. Then, there was the drawing for the raffle - everyone got a ticket upon entry. I was barely paying attention, because I never win stuff, when my number was called. I walked up to get my prize, thinking it was probably a 20 dollar gift certificate to a book store or something (which would have been really nice) or maybe the centerpiece at my table (also nice) and was handed a piece of paper. I looked at the paper and it said "You may claim your prize of $250 at the finance office on Monday morning." What?!?! I couldn't believe it. I was so excited - the pictures that were snapped of me in that moment are probably priceless. I hope they don't make it onto the agency web site. I can't believe what a great month I'm having - I even have some spending money for Hawaii now! I am renting snorkle equpiment and a surf board, for sure.

It's weird...I've always had a pretty great life, all things considered. But there have been quite a few significant bumps in the road, from long-term health scares (that eventually turned out to be nothing, but YOU try being told by multiple medical professionals that you're seriously ill for 2 years) and unrequited love and unemployment and horrific employment and whatever else. I am just not used to having all of this great stuff. I am trying to just really enjoy it, but I can't help but feel like I'm waiting for the other shoe to drop or something.

Saturday was my 2nd annual karaoke birthday extravaganza. It was really fun. If you came, thanks for showing up and joining in the fun. There were a few arrivals that i was anxiously awaiting that never happened, but it was great to see everyone who did come. Hats off to Amanda, Amy, Ellen and Kevin for singing. Hats off to Darrick, Sherri and Brian for "longest drive" award. Hats off to Marc for buying me underwear. (Too bad Marc doesn't read my blog...see what happened is that Kelly and Marc gave me a gift certificate to Victoria's Secret and Kelly told me that she was really busy with wedding stuff and so she sent Marc to the mall to buy the gift certificate - so the joke is that Marc bought me underwear.) Also hats off to Marc for being the most active audience participant - we sang Hold On by Wilson Phillips at his request and he was appropriately responsive. Hats off to Sarah Lozecki for the lovely flowers and for hanging in there until the bitter end. As always, hats off to my husband for being a good sport and for his romantic dedication to his lovely wife - a rousing rendition of "Shook me All Night Long."

Yesterday, my mom and I used the gift certificates from my dad (Christmas) at Nemacolin Woodlands Spa with my aunt Bernice. We drove up and received our amazing hot stone massages and lounged in the hot tub and then even got a litle workout in at the pool. It was a lovely sunday. I was totally exhausted by the time i came home and made dinner - I nearly fell asleep during the Sopranos!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!