click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:09 a.m. - 2007-04-23
mogu
If you go on YouTube and search Alanis Morisette and "My hump" you will find something very funny. Basically it's Alanis doing a parody of the Lady Lumps song by the Black Eyed Peas. It's very slow and serious sounding and made me laugh for a long time.

I planted a bunch of stuff on my garden yesterday. I got very dirty and sweaty and now a lot of not-oft-used muscle groups are sore from hours of bending and squatting. I planted lettuce "starts" because my lettuce never really happens when I start it from seeds. I also planted brocolli, cucumber, squash, cilantro and basil, all from from seeds. Last year everything did well except the cukes. Not even one cucumber last year. to be honest, I couldn't differentiate it from the weeds that immediately started growing in that area so it probably got strangled. Last year I had a ridiculous amount of brocolli. It didn't come in until August and it stayed all the way through November. I planted a little less of that this year because, well, you can only eat so much brocolli.

I found crumpets in the grocery store yesterday morning so I bought some and used them to make open faced egg and cheese sandwiches. Crumpets, if you are not familiar, resemble half an english muffin (maybe english muffins are the american version of crumpets now that i think about it.) But they are denser, but have larger air bubble things, so they are kind of light at the same time. You use them like toast - put butter or jelly or egg or whatever on them. yum!

I feel like an old lady - all I am talking about is crumpets and gardening. Well, I guess I also mentioned a song called "lady Lumps" so that should balance everything out ok.

I absoluely love my Mogu pillow. If you haven't seen these, they are the original round pillows with the teeny tiny almost sand like particles inside. Verrrrrah squishy and squooshy and cuddly. The problem is that it is impossible to wash. If you get it wet, the inner particles will be ruined. See, I've had this thing for five years and it is getting kind of gross. I am pretty sure there are mascara smudges on it from when I lived in Seattle. There is probably dried snot from previous illnesses and even though I swear I DO NOT drool, everyone I tell this to says "everyone drools in their sleep." So there is probably dried drool on there too. Old make-up from nights i was too tired to wash my face. The cats sleep on it whenever i get up - they pounce for it because it's warm, and i often find them, mid day, perched right on top of it, especially if it is lying in the path of the sun shining in from the window. So, basically, this thing is probably crawling with bacteria, both human and feline derived. But I absolutley can't part with it. It is the secret to a good night sleep because it supplements my other pillows in the just right way. I guess it's time to get a new one.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!