click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:56 p.m. - 2007-04-02
condoms vs tampons
OK, I am not sure how I feel about the commercial i just saw for Clearblue Easy pregnancy tests. Normally pregnancy test commercials are kind of gentle and soothing, with a woman's voice and this private, calming feel. Well, this one has the voiceover guy who does all of those movie trailers that start out "In a world..." realy intense and gruff. And he says, get this, "The most advanced technology you will ever pee on."


!!!!!!!!!

I imagine that taking a pregnancy test is terrifying. Because anyone who takes a pregnancy test is desperately hoping one of two things.

I really hope I'm pregnant.

I better not effing be pregnant.

It's not something to be taken lightly or flippantly. Right? This commercial actually kind of seemed like it was written to be directed toward the male market. I might be wrong, but I would say that women do the majority of pregnancy test purchases are made by women. I guess I could possibly maybe see sending your husband out to buy one. But probably not. And even if you did try to send him out, he would probably make that face they make when you try to get them to buy you tampons, only 7.5 times worse.

Why is it that women have to buy all of the embarrassing things? Tampons. Yeast infection treatments. Hair remover for the nether regions. I guess some guys buy condoms but that's like announcing to the world that you, a male, are having sex. Oooh, how embarassing. Right. As opposed to announcing that you have your period, have a yeast infection and need to do some waxing you know where.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!