click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:36 p.m. - 2007-04-01
r.i.p. gooski
Sadly, we came home on Saturday night to find that Gooski died. I posted yesterday that I thought this might be the end. He's been pretty bad and rallied before, but this was the end of the road for the crotchety little fella. Kevin dug a place to put him out in the back yard past the fish pond. We had a short memorial service this afternoon, honoring the life of the alley cat we couldn't get rid of and grew to love. Hopefully the last nine months of his life with us were better than the ones before which he obviously spent on the street. We buried him in the cardboard box and towel that we first used for a bed for him, before he upgraded to first the domed bed we bought him for out in the garage, and then the cat house/bed inside the house that we bought for Henry and Ted, wich Gooski took over and ultimately died in.

I am extremely grateful that this happened while Kevin was home - pretty lucky considering he was gone all last week and is leaving again tomorrow. I would not have handled this well by myself. You can say what you want about equality but in my book, it is the husband's job to remove the bodies of pets who have died from the house. (Shudder.) Or maybe it's just in my book that such things are not MY job. Now we all know that if I had been by myself, I probably would have sucked it up and taken care of business. But it would have been really hard and really sad and really distressing. I am really proud of my husband for just wrapping his little body up and taking him out even though he was really upset about it too.

On a happier note, today, one year ago my husband proposed to me. The best April Fool's day I ever had...

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!