click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:44 a.m. - 2007-03-27
perrier and tele-hang ups
Tonight I stopped at the CVS to pick up some club soda or seltzer. Normally I get this from the grocery store for 69 cents a liter. But there is no grocery store on the way home from work, so, since it was already 8:30pm and American Idol was well under way, I stopped at the drug store that IS on the way to see if they had anything comparable. They only had soda, iced tea, snapple, bottled still water and some Perrier. So I ended up with some Perrier.

I took it up along with a couple other items to the check out where the cashier held up the bottle and made a face and asked me "Zat any good?"

The cashier was about 25, looked like a college student. Clean cut. "Normal". I wasn't sure how to respond.

"Ummm. Yeah. It's just, like carbonated water." I said.

"Perry-air, or 'Perry-ay' or whatever." he said. (he used air quotes when he said it the right way.)

"Uhh...yeah." I said.

"oooooh-kaaay. Healthy." he said.

"Ummm, about as healthy as umm, water, i guess." I said.

It's not like I was buying some exotic product like that stuff i bought recently that you spray down your throat that is supposed to help you not snore. I really don't like it when the cashier comments on your purchases because it makes me feel like they are scrutinizing me every time. Like when I buy aspirin, they are like "hmmm, does she have a headache?" Or when I buy tampons...you get the picture.

When I got home tonight, the phone rang and even though it was a 1-800 number, i picked up so I could tell them to take us off the list. After ONE ring, I said "Hello?" and this recording came on, telling me "Hello. this is company xyz. We will call you back but if you would like to contact us, our number is..."

WHAT?!?!?!?!?!?! It's freaking bad enough that these people call us during dinner, but they can't even be bothered to talk to me when I pick up the damned phone now????? You have got to be kidding me.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!