click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:38 p.m. - 2007-03-03
girls' night outtie
Well, my husband has finally come back. Man, it feels like he was gone for a long time. The night he comes back always sucks because I always think he will be home around 9:30which is the normal time one would expect someone home on a 7pm flight from Chicago, but no....O'HARE airport sucks donkey balls. Sweaty, overweight, old, smelly donkey balls. Kevin has never gotten home anytime close to a normal time. I am not kidding when I say that it is actually possible that it would be faster to drive home. Or walk. Or swim - I bet there is a series of lakes and rivers from Suck-cago to here.

Well he is finally back, after a 5 hour flight delay.

As mentioned before, when kevin is gone, i spend a lot of time with J-To. Thursday night was really fun. Crazy fun. Let me tell you about it. We started out at a dive bar that I think is called McArdles. I got there at about 6pm. I was in work clothes and intended to stay for a couple of drinks, head home, put on pjs, make some pierogies and watch American idol. However...after a few drinks, we decided to head over to Dish. Dish is a very nice, swanky, European-ish bar/tappas type of restaurant that happens to be where jen met her now husband Hakan. i was there. it was special. Anyway, we went there and met some nice people and had some food and drank some good wine. Then, we decided to go dancing. In work clothes. In pouring, pouring rain. We went over to Elixer, but sadly there was no dancing. So we decided to head out into the rain again, me using my wrap as a burka over my head, to Deisel, this new club where they happened to be hosting the Hair Metal Band American idol competition. We got there in time to watch the winner announced and saw the band perform one last song. I have decided that Project Grizzly absolutely MUST be ressurrected in time for next year's competition. Those guys were way better than Marty's Mullet or whoever the winner was. We hung around for a while, amongst the young groupies, feeling kind of superior that we can head out in work clothes and sensible shoes (with a broken toe, mind you!) and feel right at home, surrounded by tube tops.

After a bit of that, we went back to J-To's house and had some more wine and a little dance party which involved the song "She Drives Me Crazy" by Fine Young Canibals and some madonna and U2. This inspired us to go back to the first bar we met at because we noticed a sign up that said something about it being karaoke night. We ran through the rain and got there just as it was starting. So we sang. Probably only a total of 5 people were interested in singing, so we had the mic for a lot of the evening. word to the wise: do not attempt Funky Co Madina or Colmadina or whatever the hell it is he's saying, unless you really really know it, which we did not. It was slightly embarassing. Obviously, since I don't even really know the title. We were definite rock stars though, as evidenced by some other girls who were not very confident about singing 'You're so Vain" asking us to help them sing it. But I have a new appreciation for natalie merchant after our rendition of Trouble Me. Well, basically we closed the place down around 1:30am when the karaoke dj, despite J-To's vehement protests, began to dismantle the equipment.

I haven't had a night out like that in quite some time. It was all kinds of fun. And I felt all kinds of hung over the next morning. I never really reached the point of actual drunkeness, but I was drinking fairly steadily for about 7 hours, so that's got to have some kind of ill-effect.

It is very important to have a girlfriend with whom you can go out and cause trouble.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!