click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:49 p.m. - 2007-02-27
change, hair and the poet on the radio
Tonight, driving home, I was listening to the radio station that sometimes has obscure indie-rock or folk music and sometimes has...other stuff. i usually listen to NPR, but it was already over and back to Jazz with Tony Mowad which is fine, but I switched to the other station, on which was a very bad interview with a "poet." Her name was JoAnn something or other and she was awful. she poems were bad and she had this AWFUL Pittsburgh accent...yes, yes, I know I have one when I drink too, but this was beyond bad. Let's see if I can get across why it was bad.

Almost everything she said just had a dead end to it. She would trail off her answer to the interviewer's question and then say something vague and general and non-comittal like "Well, it worked for me..."

At one point, she paused in the middle of something dumb she was saying and just said "Well, you know, life is both good AND bad. It's good AND bad - that's what it's all about." As though she had just figured out the meaning of life.

The interviewer, I just felt bad for her. You could tell that Terry Gross is her idol and she would ask these non-thought provoking questions that you could tell she thought were pretty awesome nd the answers would all fall really flat. At one point, she asked a fairly straightforward question - and the woman was quiet for a really long time...a really long time and then she goes "Yeah...I just don't know where you're going with that one..."

Ughghghgh! Awkward!!!!1

Her accent got worse and worse. Including when she read one poem and i thought she said "Chowed" thoughout it when at the end I figured out she was saying "child." "Stealing" sounded like "stillin" and "feeling sounded like "fillin."

And she went on and on about how strongly she believed that dreams were so much more like reality that reality itself is. I just hate when people say dumb shit like that!!!

Maybe I'm just not artsy enough or something but I thought the whole thing was a giant waste of time. so I choose to blog about it, extending the time wasting even more.

New topic.

I am having a totally fantastic hair day. I mean seriously. It made my whole day better and i am not kidding.

I love that Seattle beatboxer guy from seattle on Americna Idol. Brooke said he is the bane of her existence, which I can't understand, unless it is because he resembles Gabe. The beatboxer guy is extremely cute, Gabe is extremely cute...what's the problem?

I wrote a bunch of crap on my hand and arm/wrist with a black marker, today while I was driving (I known, one of the many dangerous things I do in conjuction with operating a motor vehicle) and I keep thinking how cool it would be to have that all tatted up. Don't worry - I won't. Only because I have a career to worry about. Although, now that i think about it, my boss has tattoos on her ears...seriously.

Chris on American Idol is pretty amazing, too. Very very Justin Timberlake. And yes, i kind of enjoy jt. Much more after that little SNL/YouTube Wonder, Dick in a Box.

OK, so Liz Cooke posed the question about where we see ourselves in five years. First of all, let me say that i was reading Meg's response on her own blog about that...I had thought I clicked on someone else's blog and as I read it, I thought "Wow....so and so is suddenly extremely funny and this doesn't seem like where they think their life would be going in five years." And then, as she referred to herself in the third person, I thought..hmm, why is so and so talking about Mae now. Suddenly, I realized it was Mae's blog. Which just affirmed to me all over again how freaking hilarious Mae is. If you read someone's blog....someone who is not especially funny, and suddenly think they are funny because of one blog entry, only to find out it's Mae's....well, that means Mae is funny as all get out.

So, where do I see myself in five years...Hmmm, executive director of something. Unless I crack from the stress before that. Mother of two children. Unless I crack from THAT stress. Bigger house, definitely. this house barely fits the two of us and the kitties. I want to live closer to and east of the city. Right now we are about 3 miles away from downtown. I'd like to be in a slightly more urban setting. If not that, a huge yard. Either way, closer to the east end of things because my parents will be the primary baby sitters. I want a dog by then, too. It's hard to plan though. I want all of those things. Maybe we'll be on a totally different path, ranging from one of us dying to one of us being a rockstar to us winning the lottery but not being able to have kids. You can plan all you want, but who really effing knows.

You single folks out there have expressed that feeling many of us have had that the lack of a significant other makes you feel overwhelmingly uncertain about the future. The truth is that no one has the right to certainty any more than anyone else. In five years, people who are single will be married and people who are married will be divorced. People who don't have kids now will have them then and people who have kids now will probably at times wonder if they should have. People who are happy will be depressed and people who have never been happy just might be. People who have no idea what the hell they are doing will have some direction and some of those who have always known what they want will change their minds.

Have I mentioned I am having a fabulous hair day?


previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!