click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:06 a.m. - 2007-02-20
adventures in youth programs
Well, it's actually happened. I am officially the old lady with the cats. My husband is on a business trip and I have three cats in this house. Good heavens. I slept on the couch last night, because that is where I got really tired. Halfway through the night, I realized I had access to only about 20% of the covers. Well, somehow the Gooski-cat managed to climb on top of the blanket dangling over the side of the couch, evidently pulling it off of me, and curl up on top of it, leaving me absolutely freezing.

But Jack Bauer was on last night, so all is more or less right with the world.

Tonight, j-To is coming over for dinner and American Idol. That is a treat to look forward to.

I have so far remebered to feed all of the animals that inhabit our dwelling, since Kevin has been gone, which has only been 24 hours, but still, a triumph nonetheless.

Yesterday, i had to deal with a pretty severe nosebleed. the bleeding nose belonged to one of the kids in my program. He is making great improvement but only speaks limited english. He was ushered to my office, blood dripping down his front. I got out my first aid kit and put gloves on and got his some gauze and such. he was very calm the whole time but he eyed my gloves and said "Umm...Miss jessi, is this like...umm...a....emergency?" I laughed and tried to explain "universal precautions" in the simplest terms. After a while, he asked if he could go and spit in the sink because he had some blood in his mouth. I followed him to the sink and said "Now, try not to make a mess..." as he promptly spit all over the sink, counter and mirror....bloody, spitty spit. And when he looked up at me (the first time I'd looked at himwithout the gazue pressed to his face) from the nose, down his neck, covered in smeared blood. Oh my. It was at this point, I felt slightly faint. Blood is somewhere in the middle for me in terms of my gag reflex to bodily fluids. Snot being the worst, then throw up, then pus, then blood, then pee, then spit, then sweat, etc. But i felt a little woozy. A pint or so of bleach and a few antibacterial wipes later, all was well, but....ick.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!