click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

4:27 p.m. - 2007-02-18
give me an H
Last night we went to a "beach party." My friend had this party on a quite snowy evening. She is the supervisor of my former supervisor, from the place I worked part time whilst looking for the job that i now have. All of those former work-mates of mine are great. The head of the organization is this youngish guy named Dave. He and his wife are frequently at these parties, and they were dressed accordingly in beach-wear. Once, a while back, for Dave's birthday, some of the employees got together and made him a present: a stack of business cards with a picture of the (all female plus Dave) staff that said "Dave and the HSC Bitches." Hilarious.

We played the card game "Asshole" and some other game called "Skat" which prompted one party goer to ramdomly bust out with "Do-da! Ba-dat-do da!" which made the game much more entertaining. We drank some good beer and ate some yummy food, caught up with some friends and met some interesting characters, including one girl who 1. was eye-poppingly argumentative (she halted the Asshole game for a full five minutes arguing with my friend's boyfriend about whether or not you can throw a 2 as your last card)2. was pretty damned funny and 3. was flirting with Kevin, who was vice president while she reigned authoratatively as El Presidente for a few rounds. It's a good thing for her that 1. I thought she was funny, half because she tried to be and half because she was kind of ridiculous and 2. Kevin was visibly annoyed and kind of freaked out by her. At one point, the president was flirting with kevin and the asshole was flirting with me (who happened to be vice asshole) (Man if you have never played the game, that sentence must be pretty funny.) The asshole kept complimenting me on my game strategy and opened my beer, etc. It amused me to no end - especially at one point, when someone called me out on trying to get out of giving Kevin my best card (part of the game) and i shouted "Rob, shut up, I am trying to manipulate my husband!" The asshole (sorry, i have no idea what his name was) backed off after that. I guess he was blinded by my engagement ring's sparkle and the luster of my wedding band. Dude, get a clue.

Today, kevin took his "little", Brandon, to the Penguins' game and I shoveled snow. I am switching between cleaning and re-reading Harry Potter, book 5 and contemplating a yummy dinner. Gooski is in my lap - scrawny little thing insisted on being in the living quarters today as opposed to the basement much to Henry's chagrin. He crawled up in my lap as I have been typing this and promptly farted. What a little shit he is. But a cute one in a pathetic, only a mother could love him kind of way. I am now considering how one might wipe away the eye gook from his face without getting cooties. Ew.

Kevin is leaving for illinois tomorrow. Woopie. A week on my own, my favorite. But hopefully that means there will be ample opportunity for some much needed girl time. Tolner and i are both married to work-travelers and that spells H-A-P-P-Y H-O-U-R.


previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!