click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:00 a.m. - 2007-02-06
ew.
Valentines make me uncomfortable. At least the ones in the "For Husband" section do. This is my first time shoopng for a valentines day card for my husband. I blushed, laughed out loud and cringed more times than I can count. I know i keep saying cards in the store suck and I should start my own greeting card company...believe me, after my afternoon of shopping in the red heart aisle, i am more motivated than ever. Every card made me want to barf. The ones written in shiny script that you have to tilt away from the light to read and avoid blinding yourself. The ones with glitter you get all over your hands. The ones with coy sexual references. The ones that are so sappy, they make my teeth hurt. The ones with a little girl and boy acting like they are in love - now those are kind of cute but also a little weird if you think about it. The ones with stupid plays on words like Bee Mine, with an insect on the front.

Then there are the cards for women, from women, that are all angry and cynical about valentines day and say things like "Fuck cupid, let's go shoe shopping." Umm, if it really makes you mad, just ignore it.

I remember almost exactly 10 years ago when Kelly Cooke gave my somewhat disgruntledly single self a really nice homemade card on Valentines Day. I remember she and matty came over to our dorm and Matt Hale and I were hanging out doing homework and Kels showed up with this great card. That was extra special nice. If my mother hadn't gone on a cleaning and purging spree in an effort to rid her house of all evidence of having a daughter, in order to make room for her one million Christmas sweaters, I might still have such keepsakes.

Speaking of my mother, she actually does a pretty good job of finding the one card in the card aisle that says what she wants to say. I have a hard time with this. I break out into a cold, nervous sweat while reading cards that start out with anything remotely sentimental...my precious mother....my beloved husband...to the love of my life.....arghghgh!

I think, as usual, I am probably in the minority. Some people enjoy this process. But it makes me uncomfortable and nervous, like I am reading someone's secret thoughts.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!