click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:02 a.m. - 2007-02-05
leavin' on a jet plane to see Maya Angelou
OK, i decided i am going into work.

I am leaving on Wednesday to go to North Carolina on an all-expense paid trip to attend a conference where the key note speaker is...

Dr. Maya Angelou

Yeah, I know, you're jealous. I would be jealous too. Although I am looking forward to that and to getting the hell out of dodge because the temperatures aren't going to be rising anytime soon, I am a little nervous about getting on a plane in this weather. It seems like sub zero temperatures might make the wings freeze and snap off or something. I like traveling but I kind of hate flying. Where is J-To when I need the Xanax?

I will be accompanied by Ellen Botkin for this trip. If you didn't know, Ellen and I work together frequently although we work for different agencies. Her agency funds my program. She and her boss invited me on this trip last minute when someone who had been planning to go for a long time suddenly had some health problems.

We will be gone for four days, during which, undoubtedly, my husband will regress to eating habits such as those that involve frozen chicken patties and the dominoes delivery man. Kelly Cooke and I both worry about our husbands' nutritional intake when we travel for work or play without them. There should be a company that takes care of this need. A nice mom-like lady who cooks organic, balanced meals and delivers them to your husband who is sitting around in his underwear listening to sattelite radio and leads conference calls, much too engrossed to think about meal planning. Magically, the nice mom-like lady appears with a plate of grilled tilapia, roasted veggies and brown rice. She is not bothered by the fact that your husband is in his underwear. She pats him on the arm and says "Enjoy that dear...oh, I almost forgot....dessert!" And she hands him a little box containing a small serving of something with anti-oxidant-rich dark chocolate.

OK. I have to head out into the freezingly chilly weather and go to work and get some stuff done. End transmission.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!