click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:04 a.m. - 2007-02-05
the big chill
Good heavens. It is currently negative 3 degrees. All of the schools are closed. Technically my agency is closed...haven't decided if I am brave enough to get out there and go get some actual work done since it will be uninterrupted.

The last couple of days have been absolutely freezing. I am really glad that my agency has an emergency weather shelter - I have been worried about the homeless people who normally avoid the shelters and sleep outside. There is no way you could survive outside in weather like this for very long without an arsenal of equipment from R.E.I.

I am also worried about the big black and white cat that hangs out near the door of the building where my program is housed. Our "outside cat" is spoiled and has a domed, cushiony bed inside the garage with a heater pointed at him. If he didn't poop all over the place and mark his territory by peeing on the carpet, I might ignore his other shortcomings such as attacking our other cats, and bring him inside. Sadly, I selfishly value our carpets and Henry and Ted's well being slightly more than his little homeless self.

This is snuggle weather people. So, if you're at home, make some tea, grab your significant other, cuddle buddy, roommate, sibling or pet, some fuzzy socks, and a fleece blanket. Get comfy on the couch and watch Rachel Ray or whatever you have on DVD. Today would be a great day for a marathon of 24 or Six Feet Under.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!