click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:38 p.m. - 2007-02-04
My borther in law is a superhero
This weekend we had my brother-in-law and sister-in-law over for dinner. We played cranium and there was a lot of laughing. I really like them. They are polite, kind, enjoyable people who are generally in a collective good mood but not in any kind of fake, annoying way.

I think my brother-in-law might be a superhero of some kind. This past week, Brian bonked his head on a rough edge of metal pipe in his adventures as some kind of AC/heating system inspector, fixer, manager something or other. He sliced his noggin right open and bled all over the place. He went to the hospital and drew all kinds of attention with the three inch long wound. Doctors circled around him politely arguing over how many stiches and what type...a plastic surgeon was consulted. Upon his arrival at our house, I expected to see a large, angry looking, crusty battle scar. However, when he bent down to give me a look, what was left was little more than a paper cut. Perhaps there is superhero blood in our family. Maybe Kevin has some, too. I hope our babies can fly or something.

Today, it seems that everyone we know is sick or blowing us off, so we will be watching the superbowl on our own at home. we have spent the morning deciding whether to go an see Children of Men or Night at the Museum, this afternoon. In all of the talking, the names of the movies keep getting mixed up in that way that moms seem to have trouble recalling the names of places and people and movie titles.

"Which one do you want to see...The Children of the Corn or the Night at the Races...?"

"Well, the Children of the World starts at 2:15 at the Waterfront but they don't have matinee prices after noon."

"Night of the Dead starts in like an hour - have to hurry if we want to see that one."

"I think I'd rather see Children of the Earth instead. But the Night of the Whatever will be cheaper."

"OK, Night of the Living Children of the Dead Corn it is."

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!