click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:56 a.m. - 2007-02-01
lunch with Oprah
You know how we used to have movie star boyfriends (Jesse Bradford), rock star boyfriends (Jeff Buckley), tv boyfriends (ummm...I didn't really watch tv back then...maybe...oh I don't know.)

Well, age and marriage leave that sort of thing behind. but i have a new category. movie mentor. I want mine to be Meryl Streep. She is just so lovely. I want to have coffee with her. She will listen to me and I will say things to her like "Merryl, it's just so...difficult." (About whatever we're talking about.) and she will nod sympathetically, and reach for my hand and lean forward and look me in the eye and smile and tell me how strong I am and how i will get through this. And then she will take me shopping and buy me a pair of fabulous shoes. And maybe Oprah will come with us. And Rosie O'Donnell. And Jane Pratt. And Miranda from Grey's Anatomy. And J.K. Rowling. And Annie Leibowitz. All of these fabulous women, who, combined, almost certainly know everything there is to know...we could all go out together to nice restaurants and they would tell me stories and look at me fondly and see a tiny part of themselves in me.

You know you're getting old when you replace fantasies of making out with cute boy rock stars with fantasies of lunching with women in their 40s and 50s...

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!